I need help choosing a name. Please leap in with suggestions.

This is a very quick post. I’ve asked on Facebook too.

We’re picking up a puppy tomorrow. Female. Cavalier (of course). She’ll look like the one in the picture. Hopefully not with a penchant for pine cones.

Trouble is, we can’t agree on a name. I like ‘human’ names, so Spot and Rover are out. Previous dogs’ names in this house have been along the lines of Sarah, Laura, Amy, Rowan, Hector, Oscar, Molly…. so that’s the tenor of what we’re looking at. Cavalier King Charles Spaniels are an old and historic breedย so I want an ‘English-y’ name. The boys are suggesting stupid names that aren’t even names and it’s driving me crazy.

HELP!!! Can you suggest anything? We’re picking up this pup tomorrow to stop Bertie from fretting. (Plus she’ll stop us from fretting too.) I’d love to have something definite to call her. Front runners at the moment are Sarah and Poppy. But the boys don’t like them. Some like Poppy, none like Sarah. Argh!

This entry was posted in pets. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to I need help choosing a name. Please leap in with suggestions.

  1. Sara says:

    I’m slightly biased but I do like Sara. Or Emma or Jane or Matilda. Or Zoe or Lucy. Or just plain Missy. I feel like I’m on romper room.

    I’m sure you will pick the perfect name.

  2. jan2132 says:

    Maisie, Rhoda, Betsy.

  3. Cathy says:

    Belle/Bella from Isobel/Isabella – scottish name

  4. Kelly says:

    Linney, Rose, (you are a gardener), Jane

  5. Kelly says:

    Linney, Rose(mary) (you are a gardener), Jane,

  6. sootie says:

    My neighbour had a Cavvy called Gracie, and she was just the best dog – an excellent name.

  7. Sandi says:

    Penny? If the coloring is the same, it would work especially well. Elizabeth is a favorite name because it has so many nicknames – Lizzy and Betsy would both work for a dog. Ella. Kate or Katie. Isabel or Bella. Rose/Rosie. Chloe. Lily.

  8. scottsabode says:

    How about Anne? Annie?

  9. Ellen says:

    I like Poppy, or how about Beth a derivative of Elizabeth or Sally from Sarah – I’m sure she will be gorgeous.

  10. Gertrude says:

    Anastasia, Charlotte, Charlene…

  11. Rita says:

    All of these names will give you plenty to think about. : ) I can only think Precious! She is just precious. Give her hugs for me. Always have loved your pups.

  12. Urspo says:

    one or two syllable names are good for dogs.
    is “Slag” out of the question? I learned it through you; it sounds rather funny for a pooch.

  13. Snoskred says:

    Well if you are looking for English names you can’t do better than Shakespeare. ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://www.namenerds.com/uucn/shakes.html

    Viola and Ophelia are my two personal faves.. Non shakespeare I like Zara.

  14. Melissa says:

    My Irish nan’s name is Sarah but has only ever been known as Sally, same with her sister Margaret who is known as Peggy! What about Lady Di?

  15. Bonnie, would be cute.

  16. kris says:

    I have a Molly. A human Molly (my daughter). My other daughters are Jessica, Sophie, Rose and Lily. All of which are lovely names.

  17. kris says:

    Oh. And my granddaughters are Daisy and Enid. Also lovely names.

  18. sootie says:

    Daisy!! It should be Daisy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. libby says:

    Elle, Belle, we have a milly. mishka.

  20. Jen says:

    Millie- It’s close to Molly. Or Chloe- just because I like it. Or Ella

  21. bluefrogee says:

    I agree with a lot of the names already put forward, especially Matilda, Daisy and Enid. All I can say is that whatever name you do choose, she is a lucky lil pup/person to be taken in by you and your boys.

  22. Jane says:

    Masie or you could name her after my Grandmother Florence, Florrie for short.

  23. Liesel says:

    Camilla. As in, wife of future King Charles III. ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. Simon says:

    We can not wait to see the new additions antics over the coming weeks and years – so looking forward to seeing the name.

    My suggestion is – Lettice

    Origin of Lettice: English variation of Letitia
    Meaning of Letitia: Latin, “joy, gladness”

Don't be shy... say something!

