Skinflint Sunday: The sun will make my herbal tea!

P1010001

Poppy has settled in beautifully. She’s sleeping through the night in a crate in my room and the only accidents she’s had have been when the boys absent-mindedly shut the back door. I’m beginning to think that my Christmas present to myself might be a doggie door cut into the glass.

Over the last couple of days she’s decided that the cats would make excellent playmates. This started when she startled Daphne, who ran. Poppy was delighted and chased her all over the house until Daph made it to the top of the couch and hissed at her. Maris is more the cat who stands her ground, so Poppy just turns it into a game of ‘chicken’, running rings around her or racing past her at top speed with her tail wagging furiously but never getting too close to Maris’s right hook. You can imagine who gets the most laughs from this little activity.

P1010002

It’s a hot and sunny day today so I’ve dragged out the solar kettle. Why not? Depending on how the day pans out I might bring out the solar oven too, but to be honest I’m not holding my breath. I want to get lots of gardening done and I’m toying with the idea of getting some soap made too, so we’ll see how we go.

P1010005

Here’s Shaun the sheep in my apple orchard. When I had Frank come to do the veggie beds I also had him edge this part of the lawn so I could kill the grass and have a perennial bed with trees, herbs and comfrey here. Then the whole Molly/Poppy saga happened and it’s still a yet-to-be-realised plan. I’m a bit worried that Popsicle might dig up the mulch, so I’m leaving it for a little while.

P1010006

The other new babies are doing fine. The top part of their tractor is a bit dirty so I’ll have to get in there today (probably scaring the living daylights out of the gerlies) and sort it out. They’re quite contented, learning to eat greens and bread scraps. They look forward to my visits in the morning because that’s when the treats arrive.

P1010007

The automatic feeders and waterers that I got for both sets of chooks are working brilliantly. I just check every morning where the levels are and fill them up when needed. The water stays clean and the food doesn’t get eaten by wild birds or rodents. They’ve made life just that little bit easier.

The month has taken a huge leap forward in the thermomix business with the introduction of 12 month’s interest free, which is available for a limited time. Quite a few people hang out for this, as they like to use someone else’s money as leverage. I’m still hopeful of going to South Africa (my sister is so close to qualifying and we want to share a room like we did back in the olden days) so I’m keeping a close watch on my team’s figures and racing out to do demos every chance I get. It’s by no means a sure thing that I’ll get to go this year so we’ll see what happens. Wish me (and my team) luck!

Thermomix (AND NON Thermomix!) recipe: Coconut milk yoghurt

This entry was posted in chickens, Fruit trees, gardening, pets, Skinflint, solar cooking, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: The sun will make my herbal tea!

  1. Ellen says:

    All looks rosy in your garden – enjoy today. The best of luck that you and your sister win the South Africa trip – now that would be quite something.

  2. Jo says:

    Your little Poppy is a darling….. 🙂 Good to know those feeders work well, I’m going to get them too I think.

  3. Jenny @ Erinport says:

    There you go Popsicle – go get those other fluffy ‘things’ 🙂

Don't be shy... say something!

