Cats, dogs and Valedictory dinners

This made me laugh this morning. Our cats aren’t enticed by the dogs’ bed but if they were you can bet that the cats would win.

I watched this talk over breakfast. Loved it. Funnily enough, it’s something I’ve learned over the course of my life and I found myself nodding all the way through. I’m a very happy, contented person. I love my life, though it’s not the life I ever thought I’d be living. It’s worth grabbing a cuppa and listening to what this guy has to say.

Young Popples is settling in very well. The cats are getting resigned to the fact that she wants to play with them, and if Daphne would only refrain from running whenever Poppy catches her unawares then their lives would be a lot simpler. Maris simply stands her ground, hisses and then strolls over and jumps onto the couch. The first (and only) time Poppy followed was a big shock to everyone, as dogs aren’t allowed on the furniture. The horror on the cats’ faces was priceless, as was the sheer joy in living on Poppy’s.

Tonight is Ryan18’s Valedictory Dinner at Crown. I’m going in my Parent role, which means I’ll be spending a lot of time at the teachers’ tables because I won’t know anyone else who’s going. My best friend Blogless Sandy should be there because her youngest is finishing school as well, but I’m pretty sure neither boy would have the foresight to request that we sit at the same table. They mix in totally different circles, after all. Plus they’re teenagers. Still, I’m looking forward to getting frocked up and seeing my third son graduate.

This year has been a great year for us. We’ve grown so much closer and he’s a person I’m particularly proud to know. (Though if he bombs in his English exam I may have to eat those words…)

Thermomix recipe: Beef jerky.

This entry was posted in Children., friends, Just for fun., pets, work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cats, dogs and Valedictory dinners

  1. Urspo says:

    I listened to this; I am curious always to hear what people think is happiness and how to define it/acheive it.

Don't be shy... say something!

