Meet Jeff.

P1010011

Jeff is Poppy’s litter brother. He was originally sold to someone who wanted to show and breed from him, but after 6 months it became obvious that he was only born with one testicle, so he was returned.
Lucky little Jeff! His breeder saw from the post I wrote that I was thinking of getting bored Poppy a little sister, so we talked. A day later I took the day off to drive to get him. Mrs Popples came along for the ride.

P1010021

He’s fitting in beautifully and enjoying the extra attention from being one of many to one of only a few. He loves cuddles. In fact, he’s sitting at my feet as I’m typing this, just within easy reach.

P1010040

They’ve been playing all morning. Poppy grabs a toy…

P1010029

… and then it’s ON!

P1010034

Bertie hasn’t been himself since Jeff arrived. He’s actually taking an interest in things. He was awake for 7 straight hours last night!
Poppy and Jeff are his great-grandchildren. Unfortunately, being a stud dog, Bertie’s interest in Jeff isn’t exactly grandfatherly. Jeff still smells of his breeder’s house, which is where all of Bertie’s…. um…. shenanigans have taken place.

P1010001

While they play he’s been sneaking around to Jeff’s back end and attempting to seduce him. When the pups race off, he’s been following.

P1010009

He hasn’t had so much exercise in ages.
This morning he was calmer and in a few more hours when Jeff smells of this place, Bertie’ll calm down totally.

P1010031

So far this morning there’s been lots of this.

P1010007
And this.

I think it’s safe to say that Poppy isn’t bored any more. 🙂

Thermomix recipe: Sweet Chilli, Cashew and Parmesan chunky dip

This entry was posted in pets, Quality of life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meet Jeff.

  1. Jayne says:

    Yay for Jeff settling in so quickly and for Poppy having a younger friend/brother.
    Hope Bertie still enjoys the exercise after he stops seducing Jeff lol.

  2. Urspo says:

    I am glad for you and for the pooch.
    It rancors me though to hear animals being returned like faulty goods. I suppose breeders must, but it makes me think they are heartless and more concerned with profit than love.

  3. Jenny @ Erinport says:

    Urspo – I bred these two darling babies and would gladly take them back in a heartbeat, if for any reason they could not stay with what were meant to be their forever homes. I think it’s wonderful that these two are together with Froggie and the rest of her family. Please don’t suggest that all ‘breeders’ are heartless ratbags – I know I’m not ! 🙂 And Froggie used to be a breeder herself – one of my ‘novices’ – and I know I taught her to be a decent caring, and proper breeder 🙂 I am very aware that there are many horrible people who call themselves ‘breeders’, when in truth, those people simply do not breed anything – they just keep bitches which they allow to have puppies (often with unknown fathers) – and then they sell them to unsuspecting do-gooders who think the more they pay for them (even from pet shops !!!!) the better quality they must be – NOT.

    And just for the record, I have bred Cavaliers for over 40 years and have invested more than $1,000,000 in the breed including a proper health testing program from day 1, which was in the days when nobody wanted to know about health tests for dogs. So I have never made a profit out of this – I’ve done it for the love of the breed and to do my best to try to protect its future.

    The above not meant to be seen as angry – just explanatry 🙂

    • Urspo says:

      Thank you for responding to this; it helps me to understand something I don’t really know; education eliminates ignorance and the emotions associated with it.

  4. Ellen says:

    I think Jeff is just where he is supposed to be – with his family. He is absolutely gorgeous and I love the photos where you can’t tell where one Cavalier begins and the others end:) The best of luck to you all and great to note what a committed and passionate breeder your lovely dogs come from.

  5. Jenny @ Erinport says:

    Ellen – thank you 🙂

  6. Jo says:

    Lucky Jeff getting a second chance at a loving family.

Don't be shy... say something!

