South Africa 4

IMG_0531_2

After the baby lion cubs, we were then taken across to another enclosure.
They call these cubs “the devils”. These ones are 6 -12 months old and are like adolescents…. into everything they shouldn’t be.

IMG_0541_2

We were told that if we crouch down to take photos we should have someone watching our backs. A cub might launch himself onto the back, claws extended, and then slide gently down as gravity takes hold….
…. I’ll just pause a bit to let you imagine that.

IMG_0535_2

Speaking of claws, here they are. Just in case your imagination needed a little nudge.

IMG_0543_2

A profile shot.

IMG_0545_2

“Who is brave enough to sit on the rocks with the lions?” we were asked.
Well, naturally, I was the first. How can you say no to that?

IMG_0548_2

Others had put up their hands too, but wavered slightly after a lion cub walked behind me and took the neck of my t shirt in its mouth and started pulling. I didn’t feel threatened at all, I just turned around and said “AH! AH!” sharply like I’d do to Poppy or Jeff, but our guide raced forward and flicked the cub on the nose with his finger and all was well.

(And as a side note, after seeing these shots I’m now on a diet. A strict one. I hardly recognise myself.)

IMG_0550_2

Awwww!

IMG_0554_2

Following are lots of lion cub shots. So incredible to be able to walk amongst them and be so close.

Untitled

Untitled

Just like Poppy and Jeff. They chew each other’s ears, legs and tails just like these guys.

Untitled

Untitled

I love this shot. Don’t worry, I had someone standing behind me when I took this.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

See the building behind us? This is where the volunteers are housed. People come from all over the world to have a working holiday here, which would be the most amazing experience. When we were there they had people from Holland and the UK there. Tell you what… you wouldn’t want to leave your door or window open though!

Chris made me laugh by saying that she was doubting the wisdome of her wardrobe choice for the day: zebra stripes.

Untitled

Untitled

This cub was probably near the bottom of the pecking order. S/he was alone.

Untitled

Untitled

Just like a house-cat.

Untitled

Just slightly more dangerous….

Next time – walking with the lions. I can’t wait to share it with you because it was pretty darned special.

Thermomix Recipe: Porcini Salt

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to South Africa 4

  1. Fairlie says:

    Awwww, to that little one on his/her own.

  2. scottsabode says:

    They’re gorgeous!

  3. Stomper Girl says:

    Oh my god, how exciting and wonderful!

Don't be shy... say something!

