South Africa 5

IMG_0596_2

Walking with the lions.
See the sticks that the rangers are holding? I had one too. It was the only self defense I had against two lions that were roaming free, a metre or so in front of me.
It was amazing.

IMG_0684

This was a point and shoot shot. No close-up focus. I was so close that (if I was suicidal) I could have taken a quick step and slapped the lion’s rump. Fortunately I have too much to live for.
The closest lion was 2 years old, while the other one was a little bit younger.

IMG_0691_2

They let the lions out at least once each day to come on this walk, up until 2 – 2.5 years of age, depending on their temperament. We were walking for 45 minutes.

IMG_0670

They’d normally stay on the path ahead of us…

IMG_0667

… though sometimes they’d range off into the scrub alongside. We were told not to let them fall back behind us, but to stop level with the rangers at all times. They were trained lions, in that they knew where to go on the walk, but they weren’t tame lions, if you know what I mean.

IMG_0661_2

I had no idea that we were going to do this. I came to the lion park because someone told me they let us hold baby lion cubs. This was unbelievable.

IMG_0637_2

After 10 minutes or so we stopped at this tree. I was taking photos with my ipad and the sun was shining directly on the screen, which meant that I couldn’t see anything through it, so I was just pointing and randomly shooting, hoping that I got some useable shots.

Untitled

They said that they stop here to show people that lions can definitely climb trees.

IMG_0628_2

And so they can.

IMG_0657_2

After that we awent to a dam, where they threw pieces of chicken around so we could see the lions in the water. Well, the younger lion wasn’t keen, but the older one was leaping in with gay abandon. Unfortunately, I had my hand across much of the lens at this stage, so no useable photos from this. But I have irreplaceable memories…

Untitled

Then, on the walk back we stopped for this sequence, where the guide was tossing more chicken pieces right in front of us.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

And it wasn’t over yet. We still had to tour the big cages.

Thermomix Recipe: Apricot and Almond Crumble

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to South Africa 5

  1. scottsabode says:

    What an experience!

  2. foodnstuff says:

    Unreal photos! Loving sharing the experience with you. Those cubs were beautiful. Bet Daphne and (?)Maris will look pretty ordinary when you get home.

Don't be shy... say something!

