Paris – is there anything to do there?

Quick question – and I really DO need the help.

Next year I’m doing the trip I’ve waited over 30 years to do and I’m going over to Europe. I planned this trip when I was 16 but then started doing stupid things like getting married, having an over abundance of kids and getting divorced and having to raise and educate the kids on one wage, so I’ve never been able to go. But this year is Evan17’s last year of school – in theory anyway they’ll all be off my hands!!!!! I can go!!!!!

I’ll be spending the bulk of my time in the UK… (bit of a history buff)… but I’ll be ducking over to those other countries across the channel for a bit of a look as well.

I have some points banked in Interval Travel, so it occurred to me that I could book a week in London and a week in Paris and really ‘do’ them. (So to speak.) London will be no problem, (anything old will do!), but Paris I don’t know so much about. I’ve put the question up on FB and Simple Savings as well, but I knew my knowledgeable blog peeps are the ones to go to.

If I’m devoting a week in the one place, what can I do in Paris? I don’t mind some down time but I don’t want to fly all the way over to the other side of the world and then be bored. Have you been? Where should I go? Is it worth spending a whole week there?

Thermomix Recipe: Parsley Pesto

This entry was posted in holidays, memories, Quality of life, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Paris – is there anything to do there?

  1. Erika Kris says:

    if you’re not doing anything in Paris except for the basics like visiting the Louvre and the Eiffel Tower, you might want to consider dropping by the neighboring countries 🙂

  2. Bek says:

    Hells yes!!! Go to Paris. I spent 12 days there on my europe trip last year and loved it. I rented an apartment (comparable to renting a hotel and I wanted to take advantage of being able to buy lots of food from markets and cook for myself) and then wandered the city by day. I would highly recommend being central (arrondisment 1-7) as otherwise travel into the central areas where most of the sightseeing stuff are is a pain. I was in the 4th and it was fine. If you are a museum/art gallery person you will be in heaven. If you like food and alcohol of any kind you will love it. If you like to people watch its fab. What time of year are you going?

    • ginger megs says:

      We’re going in a few weeks – like you, having waited until totally kid/school fees free. Our travel agent recommeded the hop-on/hop-off bus with a 2-day ticket. And not to bother with the crowds at the Eiffel Tower – go to the Arc de Triomphe at the other end of the Champs Elysee (? spelling?) where the view of the tower is much better. And always say ‘bonjour’ to doormen and shop people.Then there’s La Louvre, Versailles, Mont Saint Michel, Montmatre, Notre Dame……………..and baguettes and berets 🙂

  3. foodnstuff says:

    We ‘did’ Paris over 30 years ago, so I can’t remember much of it, but I can’t believe you’d be bored.We were on an organised bus tour which means that you do what they do and see what they take you to, although we did have days to ourselves. One trip I remember, so it must have been good, is a boat trip down the Seine. You should do that. It’s another dimension, seeing a great city from it’s river. We’ve done the Thames, the Rhine and one in China whose name I forget. Whatever you do, you’ll love it. I think you’ll find a week just isn’t long enough!

  4. Urspo says:

    Yikes! There is so much to do in Paris it would take months to hit all the high points. Better research ahead of time and try to do one or two things well. The Louvre (done properly) takes 3-4 days in itself.

  5. Isabelle says:

    Haven’t been to Paris for a while but probably the Eiffel Tower (stereotype, but, you know…), definitely the Louvre, the Montmatre area, a trip down the Seine, Notre Dame, the Jeu de Paume gallery, the Musee D’Orsay… and just wandering about.

    Are you coming to Edinburgh???? Lovely to see you! We have spare beds!

  6. scottsabode says:

    You do realise I am creating an entire itinerary for you, don’t you? You may hove some input but it’s basically in the bag.

    • Frogdancer says:

      We seriously have to Skype now I’m on holidays. I need to get dates and accomodation sorted so then I can plan and get excited. (And plan TO get excited.)

      • Isabelle says:

        Do remember that you need woolly cardigans! And raincoats! Not that it’s cold and wet all the time but it has been known… .

  7. Jenb says:

    OK Scott- we want to know what you have planned for her. To make sure we approve. 🙂

  8. nicole says:

    Yes, Paris is nice. Lots of Museums and churches. And also *hint* Frankfurt is only about 4 hours away by train. And the train ride is quite nice. Sometimes you can book far in advance and get a super cheap (less than 100€ for a return ticket I think, but you have to be a little flexible about when you want to travel) first class ticket on the train including cold dinner.

  9. Lea says:

    We were last there in 2012 only for a week, and I still haven’t finished blogging about it.
    Lots of links within: http://house-n-baby.blogspot.com.au/search/label/paris

Don't be shy... say something!

