My new life.

P1010002
Look! Pomegranates!!!!!! I only thought the tree hung onto one, but there was another sneaky little one hiding around the back. I wasn’t sure when to pick them so yesterday I asked Tom22 to go and have a look and see if they were ripe. Ten minutes later I walked into the kitchen to see them sitting in the fruit bowl, so I guess I had my answer. I have to taste one today, because soon I won’t have the chance for weeks. It’s all about my new life.

Well, so to speak.

Remember how I was saying that I wasn’t happy with my enormous girth in the lion park photos? Although I’m not in the realm of filling in my application to go on the Biggest Loser or anything, I’m still the heaviest I’ve ever been and it’s not a place I want to stay in. So instead and whingeing and sighing every time I go past a mirror, I’ve done something about it.

I’m doing the hcg diet, under a doctor’s supervision and going the whole hog. (Except that hog isn’t on the menu.) Today was the first day I gave myself the hormone injection. Have a look at the FAQ page and see what you think. The thing that initially sold it to me? They tell you not to exercise while you’re doing it. Now that’s the diet for me!!

When I was in South Africa I heard about it and spoke to a few people who’ve done it. They all raved about it. There’s a homeopathic one, but anyone who knows me IRL knows how very unlikely it is that I would ever invest my hard-earned in anything homeopathic, so I decided to go with the doctor supervised one where you actually get the REAL hormones. You can administer with drops under the tongue but the doctor said it was about 10% less effective that way, so I figured if I was going to do it I was going to get the most bang per buck that I could.

I’ve currently signed up for the three week course, but I may decide to extend it to the full 6 week one. I’m keeping my options open at this point and seeing what happens over the next couple of weeks. I’m pretty excited about it, as I haven’t been happy with how I’ve been looking for quite a while now and I think that this will kick-start the whole ‘look after Frogdancer’ phase of my life. I’m not quite ready to look matronly and comfy just yet.

One good thing that’s already happened is that before I began I had to have blood tests…. lots of blood tests. Turns out my thyroid and liver are fine, (bit of a relief with regards to the liver… I like a nice red at dinner), but I was incredible low in Vits B and D and testosterone. No wonder I was hanging onto the weight! So along with the normal vitamins and minerals everyone has to take when they’re doing this, I’m also taking extra, with vitamin B shots to get me back up to speed. I’ve been feeling incredibly tired and jaded lately, so I’m looking forward to when I get my energy back. There’s so much I need to get done!

Pretty darned happy I have the thermomix, as I can weigh my proteins and veggies straight onto it and steam them, so there’s no risk of using any fats or oils to cook with. The boys all know how to cook with it, so they can make their meals together and I can go along my merry way with my set meals. I hope that in a few weeks I can post some pleasing results.

Anyway, I’ll let you know how I go. Wish me luck. 🙂

Thermomix recipe: Red Thai soup with lentils (vegan)

This entry was posted in Quality of life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My new life.

  1. scottsabode says:

    I always gain confidence from a website with spelling mistakes on the front page! The site actually says moderate exercise is recommended. I DO wish you luck, however, the thing I have learned over the years is that there is no such thing as a quick fix or miracle weight loss product or regimen. You will certainly lose weight on 500 calories a day but it’s not a very healthy way of doing it and is not in your best interests long term. Google ‘ketosis’. Did you read the HCG’s own medical disclaimer page where they basically admit it doesn’t work?:
    http://hcgprotocol.com.au/disclaimer/
    MEDICAL DISCLAIMER
    human Chorionic Gonadotrophin (hCG) is currently used as a medication for fertility and it is also used to safely promote the production of testosterone in males. The use of hCG has not been approved by the Therapeutic Goods Association (TGA) Australia as safe and effective in the treatment of obesity or weight control. There is no substantial evidence that hCG increases weight loss beyond that resulting from caloric restriction, that it causes a more attractive or “normal” distribution of fat, or that it decreases the hunger and discomfort associated with calorie-restrictive diets.Should you notice any side effects it is recommended that you cease using the products immediately and seek the assistance of a physician. Possible side effects to look out for include: the onset of headaches, irritability, restlessness, slight water retention, tenderness of breast tissue, swelling of the injection sight, and depression. There are also rare, more severe side effects which include the possibility of developing ovarian hyper-stimulation in females. This condition will be accompanied by the following symptoms: tremendous pain in the region of the pelvis, the swelling of feet, legs, and hands, abdominal pain, abdominal swelling, difficulty breathing, diarrhea, vomiting, nausea, a diminishing of urination, and weight gain and requires immediate medical treatment.

  2. ginger megs says:

    I agree with what he said. And if sounds too good to be true, then it probably is. Any weightloss diet that restricts calorie intake so severely cannot be sustained long-term. The lack of TGA approval combined with absence of FDA approval in the US also has some alram bells beginning to ring. I hope it works for you, but there are cheaper and more effective longterm weightloss methods 😦

  3. scottsabode says:

    The pomegranates look great by the way!

  4. kate says:

    Oh froggy, please be careful. I have only had a quick look at this program but it looks a bit (no a LOT) scarey. I know you like to go ‘flat out’ at new things but please read some of the reviews and warnings about the program. One reason for your feeling tired lately could be the pace at which you live life. Sometimes I feel tired just reading what you manage in 24 hours. While I wish you nothing but good things weight loss is one of those things where slow and steady wins the race.
    Take care and (in spite if my reservations) good luck. Kate

  5. Urspo says:

    good luck ! Keep in mind just about any diet will cause weight loss due to the body’s reaction to a change in food stuffs. The real test of your diet is can you maintain your weight loss on this diet? Keep us posted on the progress.

Don't be shy... say something!

