Rampant nasturtiums.

P1010002

A few weeks after planting the orchard, I plopped 4 nasturtium plants down at the front, near the garage. I didn’t put them in the ground, because I didn’t want to allow weeds to grow through the mulch, so I put a handful of soil and made a pocket in the sugar cane mulch and planted them. Whether they lived or died was just an experiment.
Seems to have worked. They’ve travelled nearly to the other end of the plot and have started to coil up the apple trees. I should see if the chooks like the leaves.

P1010001
Here’s one of Yvonne’s tomato plants still producing. I didn’t notice this one till this morning when I was out with the dogs. Tomatoes are off the plate for me at present but I’ll make up a pasta dinner for the boys and use up the last few tomatoes before the frosts kill the plants.

P1010003

Nearly three weeks ago I planted this bed out. The caulies, cabbage and garlic are all leaping out of the ground, while the kale I bunged in at the side last week has decided it likes it. It’s a nice feeling to wander out in the morning on a sunny public holiday and see happy plants. There’s still lots of work that needs to be done in the garden, but I have a few days to puddle around and get things done. (Famous last words…)

Thermomix recipe: Chicken, Leek and Potato Bake

This entry was posted in Flowers, Fruit trees, gardening, Quality of life, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy... say something!

