I respect her independence.

P1010007

Lady Grey, the lavender Araucana chook, has had a hard time of it since the fox came and killed her sister, Mrs Crankypants. Chooks are racist little beings and the Isa Browns she lives with have put her at the bottom of the pecking order. Things weren’t too good for her, until she discovered something.
She is small enough and light enough to fly over the fence.

Most days now she lives happily in the back yard, scratching around underneath the trees and eating the grass. She flies back whenever she wants to lay an egg or have some company. The dogs don’t bother her, not even my mother’s dog Murphy the chook-killer, when he stayed over the Anzac Day long weekend.
I love seeing her wandering around, though the minute she decides to get into my veggies, that’s when her wings will be clipped. For the moment now I’m letting her enjoy her freedom.

Thermomix Recipe: Sticky ginger chicken with broccolini This looks GORGEOUS!!!!!

This entry was posted in chickens. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I respect her independence.

  1. Ellen says:

    There is nothing like a chook with attitude – long may Lady Grey enjoy her freedom. Well done to you losing the weight you want to lose (and your nails look fab too!) Just take it steady. I wanted to let you know the wonderful news that my Thermie has arrived and I am so happy with it. Now its here I realise there has been a thermomix shaped hole in my kitchen for far too long. Thank you for your introduction to this incredible machine.

  2. Frogdancer says:

    I’m so happy, Ellen. You’ll absolutely love it!
    (Interested to hear what the UK consultants cook during the demo. I’m sure it’s different to ours.)

  3. Ellen says:

    Leonie Harvey is coming here to do her demo on Tuesday 13th. She is planning to make bread, red pepper and tomato soup, vegetable gratin and fruit sorbet. If its different, I could e-mail the ingredients list to you. I can’t wait to pick up some tips from a pro – apparently, Leonie makes award-winning bread, so I’ll be keeping a close eye on happens.

  4. Urspo says:

    I enjoy your chicken stories.

Don't be shy... say something!

