Look! I love it when plans come to fruition.

P1010002

Remember when I planted the daffodil and jonquil bulbs in the herb wicking bed? I can’t tell you how this lifts my spirits every morning when I race out on my way to work and see this.

P1010004

Asparagus is up in the new bed! Actually, considering I bought $50 worth of plants and only 7 spears have made their appearance, this isn’t exactly looking like a roaring success at this stage of the game. Still, they’ll get more numerous every year, if what I saw at foodnstuff’s garden is anything to go by.

And now for the not-so-successful.

I came out to feed the chooks two mornings ago and saw this in the veggie bed:

P1010007

It was devastation.

Look at this cabbage! It looks like someone took a whipper-snipper to it.

P1010008

I didn’t know what had happened, until yesterday Ryan19 casually asked me why I let the chook tractor chooks out. Apparently he’d wandered out into the back yard, (which is a minor miracle in itself, considering he’s a nocturnal gamer) and saw the gerls cavorting in the cabage, kale and garlic bed. He grabbed some sunflower seeds and shooed them back into their pen.

P1010010

Cows…

P1010003

I’ve had my brother-in-law here over the last few days doing fixer-upper things on the house now that I’m not having to pay all my money into the mortgage. He’s been replacing rotten weatherboards and repairing holes in the guttering in prearation for….. wait for it….. the PAINTER!!!
My house is going to look pretty.
Exciting times ahead.

There’s also big changes happening with another house:

P1010011

These gerls will be getting a new chook house next week. The chook house guy came over last night after work and measured up the area. That’ll be another project ticked off the list.

Oh! And I finished the cowl I started last week. I’m putting another one on the needles today.
Life is good. 🙂

Thermomix recipe: 6 minute Protein Butter

And then I saw this recipe this morning for Lemon Chicken and Rosemary risotto. Our dinner menu is decided!

This entry was posted in chickens, gardening, Quality of life, renovating. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Look! I love it when plans come to fruition.

  1. foodnstuff says:

    My girls will kill for cabbage and kale and all the others in the brassica family. Not surprised with what they did to yours.
    Going to try that lemon/rosemary/chicken risotto; sounds good!

  2. Fairlie says:

    Wow! Asparagus! I hope it takes off – it would be great to have your own home-grown supply of asparagus.

  3. Urspo says:

    While they are my favorite spring flowers, it is unsettling to see daffodils in August! hohoho

Don't be shy... say something!

