Skinflint Sunday: Have fun watching a door open!

P1010001

6.59AM. There I was in the chook run, camera in one hand, coffee in the other, ready to capture the glory of the solar operated coop door.

P1010004

While I was waiting I took a photo of the goji berry plant that lives on the fence. Last year it fruited for the first time and they Rocked My World. Dried goji berries are so so, but fresh ones are so sweet and juicy.
Then I heard the solar door mechanism start up.

P1010005

Briana’s one of the smallest chooks so she was first under the door and out!

P1010006

Then more sedately filed out as the door kept rising.

P1010007

Rosie, the Rhode Island Red, was the last to emerge, after one of the Matildas.

On a slightly sadder note, I found Buffy’s body in the run. She was one of the original gerls I bought when we started keeping chooks in May 2010. She’s been the Head Chook for all that time, but in the last few weeks she’s been looking elderly and a bit cross. I bundled her body up and was going to put her in the bin but as I was passing the big wicking bed under the boys’ back window I had a bright idea. She’s now in it. I just have to remember not to dig too deeply in that side of it when I’m planting things. Having a chook leg sticking up in the midle of the bed might be a more macabre look that I’m aiming for…

P1010010

And here’s a shot of the asparagus bed for Kara. I bought these plants when I was on my way to do a thermomix demo for her, and we caught up again yesterday at her Mum’s demo, where I ‘drove’ Sheldon at a demo for the first time.
(I felt a bit like I was being unfaithful when I loaded Sheldon into the car and drove off, leaving Uma sitting on the kitchen bench….)

It’s going to be a glorious day! I have knitting, seed sowing and general pottering around slated, with some calling of prospective customers to line up a few more demos of the new machine. Sheldon’s a magnificent beast and the boys are loving him. I got up this morning and there was a chocolate cake sitting on the kitchen bench, with Sheldon’s bowl filled with water in the sink. They were watching the footie and clearly needed to keep their strength up for intense barracking. They’re hopping in to that guided cooking function with gusto.

Thermomix recipes: Thai Chicken balls People are raving about these in the comments.

Tomato Dahl

Gluten-free raspberry and coconut slice

This entry was posted in chickens, Children., gardening, Quality of life, Skinflint, thermomix, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Have fun watching a door open!

  1. Urspo says:

    Thanks to my brother’s inchoation into the chicken-raising pastime, I am more intrigued by postes des chickens.

  2. Snoskred says:

    I’m sorry for the loss of your Buffy. I am dreading the day that I find one of my girls. I know the day will come, it is ridiculous to pretend otherwise, but there is still a part of me going nanananana that isn’t going to happen, my chickens will live FOREVERZ.

    I know they are spoiled rotten, I know they have a fabulous life full of treats and eating bugs and a wonderful home. Even so saying goodbye to a loved pet is just not a fun time. 😦

  3. Isabelle says:

    That’s why I could never keep hens. Too soft-hearted. And squeamish.

Don't be shy... say something!

