Skinflint Sunday: Get out there and plant some seeds!

P1010001
Mrs Popplesfield with a stolen sock.

She’s been in season for the last week or so. The boys were delighted, especially Murphy and Bertie. Fortunately for Poppy they’ve all had the snip so her virtue remained intact. In some misty future she’ll be a Mum, but for now she’s still free to be a teenager with Jeff. I’m so glad I made the decision to get Poppy a friend; she and Jeff spend every waking (and sleeping) moment together and they play all day. It’s been really good, especially considering I’m working so much at the moment. They go nuts when I come home, but I know they’re not lonely when I’m away.

Today the only thing I have to do, business-wise, is train a new consultant in the dishes for the demo and to go over the flipchart with her. So I’m thinking that after I get back, today might be a gardening afternoon.
I haven’t planted any seeds yet for late Spring/early summer planting and the lupins I planted as a green manure crop should probably be mashed back into the ground before they flower. I know ‘mashed’ isn’t a gardening term, strictly speaking, but it gives a good idea of what needs to be done. The warrigal greens I planted in a wicking bed under the peach tree haven’t come back yet and I’m worried that they’ve died. I LOVE having the warrigal greens as there’s always leafy greens available. I use a lot of leaves in bolognaises, casseroles, pizzas and the like, so I’m looking at that barren wicking bed with a wild look in my eye. I’m thinking that I might have to plant some more silver beet to make up for it, until I source another warrigal greens plant. I thought that once you have it you always have it (it’s a bit of a weed) but things don’t look too hopeful at the moment.

Mum and Dad come back from Bali today, so Murphy the chicken killer will go back home. He’s slowed down since his killing spree a couple of years ago. Lady Grey still flies over the chicken run fence, but Poppy is now the dog who chases her back over. Murphy doesn’t seem to care. How time marches on.

It’s a beautiful day, so I’d better go and be a part of it. Love glorious Spring weather!

Thermomix Recipes: Butter chicken cream This also has a link to kasundi.

Honey Soy meatballs with dipping sauce. I’d put these in the air fryer to cook, I think.

Spinach dip

Chocolate Chip Cookies.

This entry was posted in chickens, gardening, pets, Skinflint, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy... say something!

