Skinflint Sunday: Fertilise for free.

P1010001
A week ago we moved the chook tractor to a very long patch of grass right at the edge of the lawn, smack bang in the middle of where the kitchen window views. Bunty and Martha seem to like being in the centre of the yard, where they get a lot more attention.

Then this morning I woke up to see this:
P1010008

Who knows how a witches hat found its way here?

P1010009

Here’s a close-up of the orchard to the right of the chook tractor. I’m in two minds about this space. Do I cut the nasturtiums back, or do I let them continue to ramble all over the fruit trees, thus hiding the fruit from the birds?
You can see my poor rhubarb on the bottom left, mashed up against the wire fence. I thought it’d be a good, accessible spot for it, but it’s clearly bigger than I thought it was going to be.

P1010004
When we transferred the Ballerina apples to the orchard, one of then had a couple of tiny comfrey plants tangled up in the roots. I remembered seeing citrus trees with comfrey planted at the base of them in Angelo’s permaculture garden, the theory being that comfrey’s roots go way down, so the plant brings up deep nutrients that it releases to the fruit tree when the comfrey dies down over winter, thus fertilising the tree. This Ballerina apple had better get a move on – the comfrey is surrounding it and smothering it.
I’ve also got the comfrey under my lime tree, but that tree is much bigger.

P1010007
Martha and Bunty. They lay MASSIVE white eggs. A meal in themselves. (The eggs; not the chooks.)

P1010010
And finally an update on the solar door in the main chook run. Once the big tree in the centre of the chook run grew its springtime leaves, the door wasn’t getting enough sun. The guy came back on Friday and moved the solar panels to the garage roof, so there should be no further trouble. I’m loving the chook house, by the way. Very happy I put it in and now that the solar door is working again… happy days and nights!

Thermomix Recipes: Falafel sauce and Baked Falafel Burgers. The last one isn’t a thermomix recipe but it’d be extremely easy to convert.

This entry was posted in chickens, Fruit trees, gardening, Skinflint. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Fertilise for free.

  1. Bek says:

    I’d be inclined to let the nasturtiums ramble, but I’m always and advocate for lazy gardening!

  2. Ellen says:

    I love nasturtiums, but I’d definitely give the rhubarb all the space it needs – it’s too delicious to miss out on. Enjoy the sunshine, we’re just out to put wood chips in the very muddy chook pen and put the rain covers on!

Don't be shy... say something!

