I thought I posted this in the morning, but I didn’t. The cool change is nearly here…

IMG_0310

Well, back to our regularly scheduled programming!
I took this photo a couple of days ago of my new garden friend in the Great Pumpkin Experiment 2015 garden bed. There’s 4 butternut pumpkin plants (and a few cucumbers) here and they appear to be growing well, though no flowers have appeared as yet. The mystery pumpkin in the wicking bed at the side of the house is growing like a crazy man. Its tendrils have reached the gate and there’s TWO little pumpkins growing at the moment. I’d show you a photo but it’s 32C out there at 10AM and I’m not willingly going outside again until the cool change comes at 7PM.

IMG_0305
When we went to the spa before Christmas we stopped in at a shop in Mornington called ‘Made in Japan’. I bought these 3 garden buddies. The toucan is actually a watering can. 🙂

Now that I’ve had my normal December regimen of collapsing in a heap of exhaustion after the school year ends and existing on a steady stream of nanna naps, novel reading and Dr Phil shows at midday weekdays, I’m feeling much more like myself again. I’ve spent a week researching super accounts, as I became aware that VicSuper was charging a LOT for fees so I decided to act like a grownup and take control of my ‘little old lady’ finances. The old chook’ll need someone to look after her, so it may as well be me.

Those who know me IRL know that I have a huge aversion to numbers and spreadsheets and the like. There’s a very good reason I’m an English teacher and not a Maths teacher. This of course made the whole Investigate Super Funds task very daunting. However, I’m pretty excited about what I’ve set in place, as it allows me to choose my own investments but without the cost of a SMSF. A year ago I joined the Barefoot Investor’s Blueprint club. I’d paid off the house and so the next step was to get some investments together as I had very little super accumulated. I’ve been very happy with the service and the information provided, especially the ‘Rescue Your Retirement’ that was released just a week or so after I joined. It was just what I was looking for!

I’ve started to put together a share portfolio and now was the time to put the Breakfree Portfolio (super) into place. I’ve decided to move my super into ING’s super fund. Yesterday I did all that and now I feel very excited about what’s to come.

I also have my garden plan from Karen at Edible Eden. It arrived just before Christmas. My house is going to look amazing. I’ve taken her advice and put down some black plastic on the lawn to kill off the grass. It’s only one patch, so the worms can move across to the sides and escape, but seeing as I have to wait until the house is painted before we start work on the garden, I may as well make a start.

Can’t tell you how good it feels to have my financial AND project goals so clear. Bring on 2015!

Thermomix recipe: Sesame Roast Pumpkin Salad
People are raving about this recipe on FB” Crustless Quiche.

This entry was posted in Fruit trees, gardening, Quality of life, vegetables, wicking beds, work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I thought I posted this in the morning, but I didn’t. The cool change is nearly here…

  1. Urspo says:

    Goodness, for a moment I thought this was a chocolate moose!

  2. Frogdancer says:

    That’s very punny!

  3. Jenny @ Erinport says:

    Remember there is only one rule when deciding on investing in anything…………..if it looks too good to be true it ALWAYS is !! (You may have forgotten that I was a licensed investment advisor 🙂 ) Happy New Year 🙂

Don't be shy... say something!

