Scarlet Runners have done a runner.

P1010029
Remember this? The scarlet runner beans which didn’t ‘bean’?

IMG_0334
This is what the bed looks like now, after 5 hours work with a pair of secateurs. I chopped the plants into tiny pieces to use as mulch. No point wasting them. I found 3 bean pods out of all that greenery. THREE!

IMG_0333
This isn’t the most attractive photo, but bear with me.
I was keen to grow these beans because they’re perennial… they don’t call them ‘7 year beans’ for nothing. I placed one of the beans on top of the root of one of the bean plants – the roots are like huge sweet potatoes or something. Incredible that something so big can come from something so little.

Thermomix Recipe: Chocolate Zucchini muffins. Made these on Australia Day. Nothing more Aussie than a zucchini glut in summmer! I only had 25g of cocoa and I didn’t add the choc chips. They were yum.

This entry was posted in gardening, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scarlet Runners have done a runner.

  1. Snoskred says:

    I have a similar situation but it involves passionfruit.

    I may never venture into the garden again after finding funnelwebs out there this week. My skin is still crawling! 😦

Don't be shy... say something!

