Apples and roses.

IMG_0339

I noticed that some of the apples are beginning to be pecked by birds. Clearly it’s time to start picking them.
There’s still lots more little ones left on the trees. This is the first haul, with an egg shyly hiding in the background. It’s so satisfying to take a crisp bite from a fresh apple from your own garden. Those powdery supermarket ones don’t come anywhere close.

Thermomix Recipe: Rose Petal Jam. I made this last night in front of 50 people at a thermomix branch meeting. Very easy. At first I wasn’t sure if it worked, but after a night in the fridge it’s ‘jammed’ up beautifully. Intensely sweet… if I make it again I’d strain the petals from it. (Still, I guess it’s extra fibre…) It’s a good way to use something else from the garden as a productive food source.

This entry was posted in Flowers, Fruit trees. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Apples and roses.

  1. Urspo says:

    When you say birds, do you mean the chickens?

  2. kmfinigan says:

    I would look at netting them earlier in the season next year if I were you! I used to have the same problems, but thanks to this simple system we devised, theyre a problem of the past! http://bit.ly/15RcdOK

Don't be shy... say something!

