Skinflint Sunday: See a garden for entertainment and Inspiration.

IMG_0367

(I have an iphone3, so the photos may be slightly fuzzy.)
When Karen came around with the garden design for my front yard, she mentioned that she was having an Open Garden weekend in Feb. Blogless Sandy and I popped along yesterday for a bit of a look. Stupidly, I didn’t take any shots of the garden as a whole, but I’ve got bits and pieces that I found interesting along the way.

IMG_0349

She’s utilised the nature strip out the front, with a few nut trees, perennial herbs and plants and lots of bee-attracting flowers. She also has a bee hive on her roof and was selling honey as well. Her front and back gardens are utilised to the max, so it makes sense to use the nature strip out the front as well, providing the council is supportive.

IMG_0352

It’s a very shady block of land, but she’s got lots of plants growing happily and all contributing to a really productive block.

IMG_0351
A vertical garden. Notice the irrigation at the top? She also has an aquaponics set up, but I didn’t take a photo of that. No fish were in there as yet.

IMG_0361

See the avocados in the tree?

IMG_0363

She is growing the most divine grapes I’ve ever tasted. They’re a heritage Italian variety that taste like strawberries. Can you believe it? We tasted one each, and that was it. I’ve come home with grape vines. As long as the boys can keep them alive while I’m in Europe, I’ll be happy.

IMG_0353
Lots of brick and stone paths here. That’s what I want to do… the less chance weeds have to sprout the happier I’ll be.

IMG_0357

If you peer at the bottom of the netting, you’ll see that in the main central growing bed there’s little brick paths wending through. The netting is covering thornless blackberries.

IMG_0362
Well… almost covering. I guess the birds and the chooks have to take a few!

IMG_0356
I was wondering why these cages were set up a garden like this in the suburbs. They reminded me of the cages foodnstuff has made to keep the rabbits away from her plants. I was thinking that the possums over this side of town must be pretty brazen, when someone mentioned that she lets her chooks free-range. Mystery solved!

IMG_0369
I’m SO loving this. A couple of days ago I had to chop the chook yard lemon tree back to just a stump growing out of the ground, because of these little horrors. I have no idea if it’ll even grow back, but it had to be done. Now I just have to find out how to get my hands on some of these.

IMG_0368
Here’s the tree growing above the table and chairs in the first photo. Can you imagine just sitting out there on a summer’s evening with a glass of bubbly, then reaching up to pull an apple from the tree?

IMG_0370
A very blurry photo of a native plant called Old Man Saltbush. (I think.) The leaves taste of salt. I also bought a couple of native pepper plants (one male, one female) so I can grow my own peppercorns. When the zombie apocalypse hits, the last thing you want to have to deal with is incorrectly seasoned meals.

IMG_0377
And this is what taro looks like.

I came back with a lemon myrtle plant too. Karen gave a tour of the garden and she was saying that she used lemon verbena in summer for tea, while in winter when the verbena has died down she uses a leaf of lemon myrtle in a cup of boiling water. Sounds good to me.
We had a lovely time and learned a lot. Can’t wait till Europe is done and dusted and we can start putting the garden in. It’s going to be amazing.

In other news Tom23 moved out yesterday. He gave me this as a farewell gift:
IMG_0348

Ryan20 has moved into his old room. A new stage has begun!

Thermomix recipe: Salmon, Pea and Feta Pasta

This entry was posted in Children., Fruit trees, gardening, Quality of life, Skinflint, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: See a garden for entertainment and Inspiration.

  1. foodnstuff says:

    Did you know you can use the leaves of the pepper tree as a pepper substitute, too? I dry them then grind them up in the you-know-what (not too fine…I leave them as small flakes… and don’t take the lid off till the dust has settled). They have the pepper heat, but a lovely background spicy aroma as well. I only have one tree so don’t get any berries. Actually it just occurred to me that I could chop them first in the you-know-what and dry the flakes afterwards. Duh!

  2. Frogdancer says:

    It’s ok. You can say “thermomix” on this blog.
    Actually, I was going to ask, which brand of dehydrator do you have? My Aldi one finally gave up the ghost and I’ll be looking to get a permanent one after I get back from Europe.

Don't be shy... say something!

