Those Cheeky Chooks!

IMG_0382

I was clearing out one of the veggie beds and saw that the kale had been attacked by cabbage moth again. I pulled it out and went to feed it to the chooks. Normally I’d just throw it over the fence but I wanted to place it near the fruit trees so that they might get fertilised as the gerls eat.
As I was standing there watching them happily eat the kale, I noticed two small chat potatoes on the ground, where I normally throw the leftovers for them.

After a minute, I thought, “Hang on… I never throw spuds in here…”

No wonder I haven’t been getting many eggs lately! Lady Grey’s egg in the middle was the only one that was in its proper place in the nesting box. The other 11 were in a pile under a shrub in the corner. I’ve started putting shredded newspaper in there instead of rice hulls and I suppose some of them didn’t like it.

Quiche, anyone?

Independence Days Challenge:
Pretty woeful this past fortnight…
1. Plant Something:
2. Harvest Something:
1. Eggs 2. Warrigal Greens. 3. Rosemary. 4. Apple Cucumbers 5. Apples. 6. Tomatoes 7. Capsicum 8. Parsley 9. Kale for the Chooks 10. Sage 11. Thyme 12. Lime Verbena

3. Preserve Something:
4. Waste Not: 1. Ate the last of the pea soup that was in the fridge for lunch today instead of eating something else.

5. Want Not:
6.Cook Something New:
7. Manage Your Reserves: 1. Realised we have over 5KGs of brown rice to use up, which is a priority as brown rice doesn’t keep for very long. We’ve been having lots of brown rice salad lately. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thermomix Recipe: Crustless Quiche

This entry was posted in chickens, Independence Days challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Those Cheeky Chooks!

  1. Snoskred says:

    My chooks have done this a few times, making nests in places I did not know about. One of them was in the nasturtiums in the garden and that plant was growing so awesomely it could hide all 6 chooks away, so I did not find the hidden nest until we decided to cut it back quite severely. ๐Ÿ™‚

    This past few weeks one has been broody and clearly not happy to see the other chickens when they ventured in to lay, so all the girls suddenly took to laying out in the run, safely away from the broody. That confused the broody enormously, and she did not know whether to sit on those eggs, or in the nesting box with her own eggs.

    It is times like those that I really wish I could read their minds. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Frogdancer says:

    Just went out and found 2 more in a different spot. I hope that fake egg I put in their nesting box does the trick.

  3. https://gardeninghands.wordpress.com/2015/02/27/my-first-blog-award-the-liebster-award-some-info-about-it/
    I wasnโ€™t sure how to let you know, but I linked your site in this post, I love your blog!

  4. foodnstuff says:

    At least you’re getting eggs! My 2 oldies have stopped and my 3 newbies haven’t started yet….and they’re 26 weeks old!! I’m buying eggs ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Mine didn’t like shredded newspaper either and wouldn’t even go into the coop when I put layers of newspaper flat on the floor. They have minds of their own and nowhere rational ones either!

  5. Urspo says:

    fastidious chickens? who knew?

Don't be shy... say something!

