Skinflint Sunday: Catching up with no photos.

Argh! I’m still waiting to hear back from yahoo, who handles my log-in for my Flikr account. I thought I’d blog anyway… who needs photos when with the glory of the entire English language at my disposal, I can paint pictures in your mind instead?

Right! Um… here we go.

My house is looking fantastic! I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to come home every day and pull into the driveway of a house that looks stylish, hip and not at all beige. It’s starting to look like a house that belongs in this neighborhood, with my lovely little new car in the drive and the gorgeous paint. Once I come back from Europe and install the food forest in the front garden and get the shutters put into the two front windows then it’ll be a dream come true.

To give you an indication of what I’m fighting, I have sheer curtains currently in the front windows. Poppy and Jeff are the most entitled of all the dogs I’ve ever owned… it’s apparently ok to jump up on the couch and look out the front window when your mother leaves the house. They’re so cute and gorgeous.  They’re very naughty dogs.

It’s also ok to stick your noses through a tiny hole in the curtain and enlarge it. *sigh* Enlarge it massively. When anyone comes to the front door it looks like feral renters from the boondocks live here. Something had to be done. I swapped the curtains over from my bedroom to the lounge. I figure that no one really notices my bedroom window from the street but everyone sees the lounge room window. I don’t want to spend money on a new curtain when I’ll be getting shutters put in some time soon. (I’d rather spend the money on a gondola ride or something like that.) 

I spent yesterday planting my garlic. I’ve decided that I won’t be planting anything else, as the boys won’t look after the garden terribly well while I’m away and it’d all go to waste, but garlic sits in the ground for about 8 months so it’s worth doing. I ordered a couple of new-to-me varieties (Australian White… sounds a bit racist! and Silverskin, sounds a bit Star Trek Next Gen!) and planted them in a bed along with the Nonna’s garlic that my ex MIL gave me about 4 or 5 years ago that I keep on harvesting each year. I love the idea of keeping Nonna’s garlic going as a family heirloom but the bulbs are tiny and it’s a bit of a pain to use in cooking. Still, it’s better than having to buy it.

Well, I’d better go and start making the pizzas. It’s Family Dinner Night tonight. Since Tom 23 moved out we all get together on Sunday night for dinner. Sometimes he brings his flatmate, as we’ve known Gus for years… I was his year 8 form teacher. The more the merrier. Tonight after dinner Tom23 and I are heading up to Frankston to see David21’s band play. It’s the third gig on their first tour… their band Beautiful Beasts is supporting Julia Henning on a tour up the East Coast of Australia and then down to Adelaide. Very cool stuff.

Much like my good self, of course.

To prove my coolness and ultra groovy way of life, here’s the Independence Days Challenge for the last couple of weeks.

Babybaby.

Independence Days Challenge:

1. Plant Something: 1. Blood orange 2. Kaffir Lime 3. Elderberry 4. Balm of Gilead x 3. 5. Transplanted a red tamarillo tree that was strugging. (Thanks Bev!) 6. Garlic. 7. WORMS. (Bought a box of worms from Worms R Us online. ) 8. Meyer lemon tree. 9. Imperial Mandarin tree. 10. Parsley.

2. Harvest Something: 1. Eggs 2. Warrigal Greens. 3. Rosemary. 4. Apple Cucumbers 5. Apples. 6. Tomatoes 7. Chocolate capsicum 8. Parsley 9. Sage 10. Bay leaf  11. Parsnips. (Thanks Bev! They are descendants of the seed you gave me 4 years ago. They like the wicking bed.)

3. Preserve Something: 1. Dried lemon verbena leaves.2. Dried Basil mint leaves. (thanks Bev!) 3. Dried plums. (Bloody beautiful!)

4. Waste Not: 1. Composting and feeding things to the chooks. 2. Planting extra garlic because I couldn’t bear not to use all the bulbs I grew last year. 3. Made veggie stock paste from the sad veggies in the crisper. 4. Making pizza from all of the leftover balls of pizza dough that we have in the freezer. 5. Eating out of the freezer and pantry before I go away; using up food so that when I go to Costco the boys will have fresh food to eat.

5. Want Not: 1. Dried some purple striped beans so we’ll have a massive bean crop next year. 2. Bought 4 fruit trees from Aldi @ $20 each. Bargain! 3. Started preparing the garden beds for a 6 month rest because I’m going to Europe. 4. Saved parsnip, oak leaf lettuce and cos lettuce seeds.

6. Cook Something New: 1. Bagels. (OMG delicious. Worth the price of the thermomix alone…)

7. Manage Your Reserves: 1. Brought in some frozen meat from the freezer in the garage. Nearly forgot about it…

Thermomix Recipe: Creamy Coconut Yoghurt. People are raving about this recipe. Can’t wait to try it.

This entry was posted in gardening, Independence Days challenge, pets, Quality of life, renovating. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy... say something!

