Five minutes till I board the plane…

I love free airport wifi. πŸ™‚

I was walking through Melbourne airport and I realised that this is the first time I’ve ever flown anywhere by myself. There’s always been sons or other thermomix consultants with me. It felt strangely liberating to stride through the corridors by myself.

I got slightly emotional as the plane was in the air between Melbourne and Sydney. Tears welled up and I had to concentrate fiercely on my kindle. I kept thinking of the little year 9 girl who planned this trip with her friend… and how she probably would’ve killed herself had she realised that it’d be 36 years before she got to go! I suppose this makes me the Queen of Delayed Gratification.

Here’s something I posted on the Simple Savings forum… it’s quicker to cut and paste:

I’m in the departure lounge at Sydney airport.

Ten minutes before I board and savour that first champagne!!!

The day didn’t go completely smoothly….

David21 and I were driving in to the airport during peak hour traffic this morning. Half way there, I suddenly realise that I left my phone at home. (This was the horrendously expensive iphone6 I bought to use as a camera…)

David21 turned the car around without even a word of reproach (such self control!)and we headed back. He couldn’t take me again as he had work so I was frantically calling a taxi company to meet me at home to take me to the airport.

I’ve aged about a decade, I tell you. That champagne is classed as medicinal.

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five minutes till I board the plane…

  1. foodnstuff says:

    I’m late seeing your post (it says you posted 2 hours ago), so I suppose you’re up in the air by now, enjoying that champagne. Anyhoo, I hope you have a lovely time, you’ve earned it! I don’t ‘do’ Facebook so won’t see your pictures, but hope you’ll put some on the blog. Enjoy yourself and say hello to Queen Liz from me πŸ˜‰

Don't be shy... say something!

