Oxford, the Cotswolds and The Pudding Club

IMG_1235

This is the day that I joined the Backroads tour to see Wales, the middle bits of England and then to see a smidge of Scotland. I’m going to be doing this over the next 9 days. I was a bit worried that the tour was going to be a minibus full of loud Americans, but thankfully there’s only 6 of us and we’re all Aussies and New Zealanders. I’m the youngest by about 20 years and most of them walk slower than I do, so I’m playing this part by ear. In the free time I’ve spent some of it with them and some zipping off on my own.

Oxford was a very pretty place. We met our tour guide, a lovely boy doing his final year in History called Charlie, and we spent two hours walking around hearing about the history of Oxford Uni and ducking in and out of buildings.

IMG_1233

This statue is of Archbishop Cranmer and his friends, who were burned at the stake by Mary I (or ‘Bloody Mary’, as she became known after doing things like this) in Oxford in 1556. Amazing stuff, that he held his hand in the flames until it was burned to a crisp before the fire took any other part of him. (It’s in the link as to why he did it.)

IMG_1237

Charlie then took us around the corner to this spot, set into the road, which marks the spot where the three men were burned. He said that when Cranmer was burning, the winds suddenly whipped up to such an extent that the flames went wild and set buildings under the city walls alight, with gates of some of the colleges being set alight too. People had to run for their lives and it was thought that it was a sign of God’s displeasure.

IMG_1242

We ducked in to see Balliol. Ignore the closed part… this was the back of it. I just wanted you to see how old this college is…

That’s a lot of essays however you look at it.

IMG_1238

Here’s shot of the inner quad. Wouldn’t it be nice to have your student days in a place like this?

IMG_1249

We went up to a chapel, but to Charlie’s surprise a choir was singing in there.

IMG_1253

 

That’s Jean peeping in; one of the women on the tour.

IMG_1271

We saw some beautiful buildings, as well as this one: the Bridge of Sighs. When I get to Venice I’ll be able to compare it to the one there. Though Charlie said that it wasn’t actually based on the Venice one; it was based on one at Cambridge Uni, so naturally Oxford made their one bigger and better!

IMG_1275

The Bodleian Library. The wall you can see houses the oldest books in the collection on the upper floors. By ancient decree, students have to swear: “I hereby undertake not to remove from the Library, nor to mark, deface, or injure in any way, any volume, document or other object belonging to it or in its custody; not to bring into the Library, or kindle therein, any fire or flame, and not to smoke in the Library; and I promise to obey all rules of the Library.” Charlie said that students recently decided to test this out by bringing a kindle (as in an electronic book reading device) and sure enough… they were banned from going in!

IMG_1257

This is the Sheldonian Theatre, designed by Christopher Wren, the guy who designed St Paul’s Cathedral that was I was in just the day before. It was built in 1664-1669 and they still use it. It’s not for plays, unfortunately; they use it for debates and the like.

IMG_1266

It started to rain. In the middle of summer. What’s wrong with this country?

IMG_1267

I lifted the brolly enough to snap this photo. Harry Potter was shot here. These windows are in the infirmary where Harry had to get his arm bones put back in after Guilderoy Lockhart vanished them, while the upper level was the library at Hogwarts.

IMG_1281

This is Blackwell’s Books, where I bought my Oxford souvenir, a first edition of Go Set a Watchman. It was the first day it was released. After having taught To Kill A Mockingbird for so many years, I’m really looking forward to reading this. So is Tom23, of which fact I’m inordinately proud. Tom23, (and the other boys): I’m bringing this home with me and if you look after it you can read it. xx

IMG_1280

Here’s the only shot of Oxford I was able to take without it being packed with tourists and students.

After we’d finished, we had an hour and a half to wander around in. Charlie told us about an exhibition that was in the new library that sounded like the chance of a lifetime. All of these old, original books and manuscripts were there, including the Magna Carta, a first edition of Shakespeare’s First Folio, St Thomas More’s Utopia etc etc. As soon as the tour was finished I ducked into a sandwich shop, ate my bread roll while I was walking down the street and as soon as I was finished I raced into the exhibition. I took loads of photos.

IMG_1283

 

IMG_1284

I was surprised at how plain this was. I think I was expecting an illuminated manuscript or something, but this is what it looked like.

IMG_1285

IMG_1286

How incredible is this?

IMG_1319

IMG_1317

First The Globe, then this and the Statford on Avon with Scott in a couple of week’s time. I’m going to send this photo to my Head of Dept at work. He’s a rabid Shakespeare fan.

I took many other photos of things like :

A first edition of St Thomas More’s Utopia

Two notebooks written by Elizabeth I when she was practising her calligraphy as a girl.

IMG_1314

IMG_1315

The Gutenberg Bible.

William Blake’s Songs of Innocence, that he hand-coloured himself. (I saw his marker in St Paul’s the day before, too.

Alexander Pope’s An Essay on Criticism, written in his own handwriting!

Handel’s original conducting score of The Messiah, with his handwritten notes in the margins. (I took this one for you, David 21. I also have photos of Elizabethan pianos, or their equivalent.  I’ll show you when I get home.) 

IMG_1309

 

IMG_1310

 

 

 

A Jane Austen notebook written as an amusement for her family when she was a teenager.

A first edition of Isaac Newon’s Principia mathematica. (I saw his marker at Westminster Abbey…)

IMG_1303

IMG_1304

Now seriously, what are the odds of any of them surviving, but particularly this one? It was just a scrap of paper folded up and given to her. She must have really loved it, or it would’ve just been screwed up and thrown in the bin. This guy was the one whose statue was scorched in the Great Fire and is now in St Pauls Cathedral. These people are popping up everywhere!

Then we set off for the Cotswolds.

IMG_1334

Not a bad looking place.

IMG_1327

The next stop was a woolen mill in a little town at the edge of the Cotswolds. By law, every building put up in this area of the country has to be made of the local limestone. This has resulted in the prettiest little places I’ve ever seen in my life.

IMG_1333

Look at the dry stone walls. These were everywhere, with the big rocks on top of them.

IMG_1332

So pretty.

IMG_1335

We were walking along the road when the Postman Pat van stopped in front of us. The postie laughed and moved out of the way when I asked if I could take a photo.

IMG_1337

After we had our English tea, we walked down to the local church. It’s 1,000 years old.

IMG_1338

It’s hard to comprehend how places like this still exist. It’s one thing for a palace or the Tower of London to be still kicking around, but little places like this have been used and inhabited all the way down the line. Incredible.

IMG_1349

 

On the way to the village where we spent the night, we passed through a couple of gorgeous little market towns. This one was Burford.

IMG_1370

Then Chipping Camden. How do the English come up with these names?

IMG_1368

We saw this thatched cottage getting the thatch renewed.

IMG_1366

 

And look at this impossibly pretty cottage.

IMG_1352

 

Then we saw a folly. It’s Broadway Tower, on the top of Beacon Hill  in the middle of nowhere.

IMG_1351

To get to it we had to climb a stile. Yes! An actual stile! If I’d thought about it, a stile would’ve been on my List Of Things To See.

IMG_1360

Just to prove that I did it.

IMG_1353

IMG_1356

It was so still up here. All we could hear was a few birds. You can see Wales from here on a clear day.

Then we came to our hotel for the night.

IMG_1373

It’s the home of the Pudding Club. This was started in 1985 when some people became concerned that on all the menus on offer, there were no traditional English puddings being made. It was all fancy schmancy Fench stuff. So now they meet every Friday and have the puddings. They were delicious!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in holidays, Quality of life. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy... say something!

