Mary Queen of Scots, Abbotsford and the Da Vinci Code.

IMG_2269

Today was the last day of my backroads tour into England, Wales and Scotland. I can’t believe how quickly this 9-day tour has gone.

IMG_2273

Russell stopped the bus in the middle of the road, which was ok because there was absolutely no traffic here. We were winding our way around the hilliest, most spectacular country. I was really glad that I chose this tour, as there’s no way a big coach would be able to get to some of the places we’ve been.

IMG_2271

This sort of scenery id how I’ve imagined Scotland to look like.

IMG_2266

Then we came here to stretch our legs, as this last day has a lot of driving in it. The modern-day reivers were out in force, with someone popping out of a little hut demanding money for us to walk around it. I politely declined and went back to sit in the bus.

IMG_2264

But here’s the explanation of why it would’ve been nice to have a look. Still…!

IMG_2274

We arrived at Abbotsford at lunchtime. Not a convent like at home, but the house where Sir Walter Scott lived. He was huge in his day, with people reading his books by the ton, but honestly… I’d vaguely heard of him, I knew a few book titles but I hadn’t come across him before. I leafed through a couple of his books in the gift shop, but the print was very small, the pages were very numerous and the paragraphs were very large. I decided to keep my ignorance of his works intact.

IMG_2279

He was quite a good-looking man in his heyday.

IMG_2297

As mad as a hatter though. He’s like the early version of those

IMG_2277

Here’s a section of his entrance hall. Maybe Scott could take some decorating tips from this guy?

IMG_2291

His library was till as he’d left it. No glass in front of the books, just crossed wire.

IMG_2286

In a large cabinet in the library were some fantastic artifacts. Some of the photos will have reflections from the lights they had above the cabinet, sorry. Sir Walter Scott was very big on history.

Napoleon’s pen case.

IMG_2287

More Outlander. Souvenirs from Culloden.

IMG_2284

IMG_2288

 

Bonnie Prince Charlie’s hair?!?!

IMG_2283

The one I was most excited about was Mary Queen of Scot’s crucifix.

IMG_2282

IMG_2285

IMG_2289

The whole library was floor to ceiling books.

IMG_2290

Here’s a view from the second floor of the river Tweed. When I was a kid we used to go and visit my grandparents up in Queensland and we’d walk along the Tweed river with my Grandma. I decided to walk to the river and have a look at the original version. Sir Walter Scott, in my headphones, kept banging on about how good it was and how he wanted to die within sight and sound of it, so I thought it might be a good thing to do.

IMG_2306

I asked a friendly gardener the way.

IMG_2308

Look! A hollow tree!

IMG_2310

The river with a birdy thing on the other side.

IMG_2311

The view to the left was ok.

IMG_2312But the view to the right was lovely. It was very nice, standing there, listening to the river and the birds and the wind. I have to say that the original river is far prettier than my memory of the one in Queensland.

IMG_2321

Then our last stop on the tour was a trip to the Rosslyn Chapel. This was brought back to the public eye by The Da Vinci Code. I hated the book; thought it was badly written, so I didn’t bother to see the movie, which has scenes shot here. I wasn’t fussed about seeing the chapel, but this is why it’s good to go on these tours, as I never would have hunted this out, but I’m so glad I’ve seen it.

IMG_2322

Being a chapel and a place of worship, they don’t allow photos inside. They DO, however, allow a black and white cat called William to sleep there on a pew all day. 🙂 Have a look at the link about the chapel that I placed in the paragraph above. The whole place is covered with the most intricate carvings. It’s a riot of whimsy, artistry and religion. It’s magnificent.

IMG_2323

 

This was the only carving I could get close to. The inside of the chapel is isane… the carvers here must have had an absolute wow of a time coming up with all their ideas. It would’ve been a very creative and competitive space to work.

Then I was met in Edinburgh by Pam. I jumped off the bus, after we’d dragged her on to say hi to everyone, and then I went back to Pam’s place to begin the next stage of my Big Adventure… Edinburgh!

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy... say something!

