Avignon and Baune

IMG_4792


This is so awful that it’s fabulous.

When I was in year 8 French we had to learn (and sing) the song of  ‘Sur le Pont d’Avignion’. It’s about people dancing on the bridge of Avignon.
Who would’ve thought that quite a few years in the future I’d be so excited to dance on the bridge myself?

IMG_4802

IMG_4804

IMG_4803

IMG_4805

IMG_4808

IMG_4786

As you can see, the bridge ends abruptly half way across the river. It’s a huge money spinner for the town though; there’s a lot of people willing to pay 5 euros for the chance to dance on the bridge. Not that anyone else was actually dancing.

IMG_4817

This is the view that Eleanor of Aquitaine and all of the other medieval people would have seen as they approached the town over the bridge. Minus the cars, of course. The church and the buildings are the Pope’s palace, from the time when there were 2 Popes and one of them lived here.

IMG_4797

IMG_4799

There are a couple of little chapels built into the bridge, I’d guess for last-minute spiritual help to save travelers from gypsies, pickpockets and thieves.

IMG_4810

IMG_4830

It even has a drawbridge.

IMG_4832

IMG_4794

Due to the Pope living here, this town was very well defended.

IMG_4791

This is in the square.

IMG_4787

Not a bad little cottage for the Pope to live in.

IMG_4827

Dad gave me this hat a few years ago. After weeks of being stuffed into either my suitcase, my bag or on my head, it’s rapidly unraveling. I’m going to make it last for the whole trip and then ceremoniously bin it on the last day.

IMG_4840

It was a big driving day today. Look at what I found at a rest stop.

IMG_4841

 

After dinner we hit Baune, pronounced “bone.”

IMG_4843

IMG_4854

 

Naturally we had to ride the merry-go-round. Strangely, most members of the group

 

declined, but Mal, Mark and Frogdancer revisited our childhoods.

IMG_4852

IMG_4859

 

Then we wandered around until Mal had the happy idea of visiting a bar to taste the French cognac.

IMG_4865

 

George, my grandfather, loved his brandy. I suggested we raise a glass to him.

IMG_4864

Complete with creepy bartender.

 

IMG_4867To George!

 

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avignon and Baune

  1. foodnstuff says:

    This trip is exhausting me! And I’m just sitting at a computer. How do you do it, day after day?

  2. Urspo says:

    I like the merrygoround photo the most.

Don't be shy... say something!

