Sainte-Chappelle

IMG_5437

This is a separate entry because I foolishly pressed send on a post I hadn’t finished editing. I feverishly posted more before Feedly went out but I left off Sainte-Chappelle.

This was the chapel built in the 1200’s solely for the use of the French King. The opulence and magnificence of this space is amazing. The stained glass windows are a marvel and to think that they were made all for the edification of just one man.

IMG_5443

Each one of these panels is incredibly detailed, with stories from the Bible. See how high up they go? Honestly, you can only see the lower ones properly. I couldn’t help feeling that it’d be my luck if I was a stained-glass-window guy working for the King, my windows would be up the top where no one would ever see them.

IMG_5442

This one gives a better indication of the colours. They were all blue, gold and red. Incredible.

IMG_5454

Here I am in a suitably spiritual mood.

IMG_5439

Look up!!!

See you tomorrow.

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sainte-Chappelle

Don't be shy... say something!

