Giverny, Orangerie, Pantheon and Rodin.

IMG_5594

I was really looking forward to this morning. We took a bus ride to Giverny, where Monet lived in the second half of his life and where he painted his water lilies paintings. By all accounts it was a beautiful place, and they certainly didn’t lie. It was exquisite.

IMG_5596

Ours was one of the first tours to arrive and we were quickly herded up to the house, with our guide telling us to move quick. She said that soon the house would be packed. Even with this advantage, you still had to move quick to get decent photos without people in the way.

IMG_5597

This is what I intended to get. The house had amazing use of colour, often in combinations more timorous people, such as myself, would attempt.

IMG_5599

This first room was an ode to blue. Japanese prints were everywhere, along with photos.

IMG_5606

Even the clock was painted to fit in.

IMG_5607

Next stop… the studio. Lined with paintings and PEOPLE. I shudder to think of what it would be like in half an hour after all the tour groups get there.

IMG_5610

It was a beautiful room. The windows were huge and let in so much light. It would have been a very pleasant space to spend time.

IMG_5611

All of Monet’s paintings here are reproductions. The originals are all in museums and private collections.

IMG_5609

IMG_5612

The view from the window. I couldn’t get near the other one… too many people. So I went back up the stairs and continued.

IMG_5618

Not a bad view from your bedroom window, is it?

IMG_5620

Here it is without that annoying tourist in the way.

IMG_5622

Again, would you think of putting these colours together? Not me, but they work.

IMG_5623

Here’s one of me taking a photo of Scott taking a photo.

IMG_5628

This was a very pretty room.

IMG_5640

Downstairs, the yellow dining room and the blue kitchen.

IMG_5633

I love yellow. This room made me very happy.

IMG_5637

Nice little detail for the cat lovers.

IMG_5641

Look at the mob of tourists coming through the door…. I knew I had to snap fast.

IMG_5636

He certainly liked his Japanese prints.

IMG_5627

 

 

IMG_5647

Dammit! That guy just got into the shot. Do you know how long I had to stand there and wait for people to move away? The house was getting crowded.

IMG_5651

I gave up waiting for these two. They appeared to be there for the duration.

Nice pots, though.

IMG_5643

Woo hoo! Success! Then it was out to the garden. There are two gardens to see; the flower garden closest to the house and the water garden, where the water lilies are. I elected to bolt for the water garden, which was across the road, only able to be reached by a tunnel.

IMG_5653

As I left the house, here was half the queue waiting to get in. My advice? Go early.

IMG_5662

This water garden is so cool and quiet and completely stunning. Money created it himself. I’m just going to post a few pictures, particularly for Mum. She’s an artist and I know she’s been to the Orangerie to see the paintings, but I don’t think she’s been here.IMG_5657IMG_5678IMG_5714Here’s me on THAT bridge.

IMG_5703

IMG_5672

IMG_5663

IMG_5680

IMG_5685

This reminds me a lot of a couple of the paintings.

IMG_5665

IMG_5697

IMG_5682

IMG_5698

On the bridge again. Everyone was helping out everyone else by taking photos for people and waiting patiently for people to get their photos before taking their place.

IMG_5687

IMG_5689

IMG_5716

Then it was back to view the flower garden. As our guide said: This is a very human-sized garden. Monet didn’t expect so many guests, so the paths are quite narrow.

The layout is of long beds with narrow paths between them. Most are fenced off. The garden beds are a riot of colour.

IMG_5733

IMG_5723

IMG_5730

IMG_5743

I think this might be a massed planting of amaranth.

IMG_5731

IMG_5741

The smell from all the flowers was intoxicating. Lavender lined the paths and the bees were everywhere. It was amazing.

IMG_5740

I love lambs ears. Never thought of doing a massed planting of them.

IMG_5717

IMG_5719

I was talking to a gardener about these. He said that there are 10 full-time gardeners employed in the winter and 20 in the summer. (Dahlia Honka Rouge, in case anyone is like me and wants to get some.)

Then it was back to Paris. On the way back we decided to rearrange our itinerary and go to the Orangerie to see the paintings. We liked the symmetry.

 

You know how people tell you a painting is large but you can’t quite grasp it until you see it? There were 2 round rooms to house 8 paintings. They were HUGE.

IMG_5765

I think this was my favourite one, though I liked the willows ones too.

IMG_5762

IMG_5755

IMG_5761

IMG_5771

IMG_5767

IMG_5772

There are also other paintings here.

IMG_5774

“I’m melting!!!”

Soutine – ‘La Fiancee’. 1923. I’m sorry, but if my beloved ever painted something that portrayed me like this, the wedding would be off.

IMG_5778

Renoir. 1905

IMG_5781

More Renoir. ‘Gabrielle st Jean’ 1895. This is his wife and child. It reminded me of a snapshot.

IMG_5776

What can I say? I like the colours. Soutine – ‘Paysage’. 1923

IMG_5780

And a Picasso through a gap in the wall.

Then it was off to the Panthéon.

IMG_5785 IMG_5786

Look up!

IMG_5786

To be honest, this was a bit of a disappointment. The top level was big and impressive, but the crypt, where the graves of the famous people are, was desolate and cold.

IMG_5796

The tunnels all ran like this, with the graves in rooms where you couldn’t get to, except for the Curies. It was cold and echoing and damp… I wouldn’t want to be buried here.

IMG_5793

By far the best one was Louis Braille. The dots under the top line are actually braille.

IMG_5795

But here’s his actual tomb… one of these boxes. It’s a bit grim; you can’t even tell which one is his.

IMG_5801

 

The door to the tomb room was open so you could actually go in and see Pierre and Marie Curie’s tombs. Ther weren’t originally here; some time in the 90’s they were dug up and moved. Given their work, I was hoping they were in lead-lined coffins so they weren’t giving us all radioactive poisoning….

Other tombs we saw were Alexandre Dumas (‘The 3 Musketeers’ author), Emile Zola, Victor Hugo, Rousseau, Voltaire and a bunch of others. We skipped out of that joint and went off in search of the Rodin museum.

IMG_5803But on the way I saw this window full of marcasite. OMG. I love it.

So much so that I went in and bought some earrings. This is my Paris souvenir from the Left Bank.

IMG_5984I love them. 🙂

Then it was off to Rodin!

IMG_5804On the Insight tour we’d drive past the Rodin museum and Gigi would tell us that if we were lucky we’d be able to see ‘The Thinker’ between the trees. I never could.

IMG_5805

But here he is.

IMG_5817

They’re doing renovations on the house, so we wandered through the gardens and looked at the pieces.

IMG_5816

IMG_5813

IMG_5830IMG_5820

I loved this front one.

IMG_5822

Look! A bust of George Bernard Shaw!!!

IMG_5826

And here’s the Gates of Hell.

IMG_5827

Whoops! See the one on the side slipping down?

IMG_5828

3D.

IMG_5835

Inside was ‘The Kiss’. This was the first photo I took… then I wanted to take another from a slightly different angle.

IMG_5836

One of them has a stalker….

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giverny, Orangerie, Pantheon and Rodin.

  1. Michelle says:

    Some lovely photos here. I also like the yellow kitchen. We weren’t allowed to take photos inside when we were there. We went in May on our own and there were not as many people int he gardens. It fels surreal to be where he painted those pictures in the Orangerie. Been to Paris a number of times but haven’t been to the Rodin. Will put on my list.

  2. foodnstuff says:

    Loved the yellow kitchen and the gardens were out of this world. No rabbits there, I presume.

  3. Thank you so much for sharing, loving the photos and commentary.

  4. Lucinda Sans says:

    Wow! Thank you for the tour. More places on my list. Wonder what the difference would be to the gardens in spring. Less visitors but wonder if less impressive. I too want those star flowers.

Don't be shy... say something!

