The Roman Baths at Bath.

IMG_6775Look at what I saw at Bristol station on the way to Bath. It’s a sign…

IMG_6777

Here’s the street where my hotel is. Pretty, isn’t it?

IMG_6778

As soon as I threw my bags in my room I hot-footed it down to the Roman Baths. I asked the girl at the desks for directions to the baths and she sent me to a day spa. Silly girl. Doesn’t she realise that it’s all about The History?

IMG_6779The baths in front, the cathedral behind.

To be honest, I wasn’t as impressed as I thought I’d be. It was a bit dull.

IMG_6784

But there were bits that were ok. Like this woman’s hairdo.

IMG_6786

This is it from the back. Lucky for her she had slaves to do her hair or she would’ve been there for a week trying to get it right.

IMG_6796

These are curses. If you were angry at someone, you’d write their name and their crime against you on a piece of lead and throw it in the pool. Then the gods would take care of them.

IMG_6801

IMG_6799IMG_6800

The things stolen are usually not so huge, yet they call down the most grievous curses on the heads of the thieves.

IMG_6812

Just to show that it’s not just Scott who ruins shots. 🙂

IMG_6802

IMG_6781

This is the sacred spring, where the hot water bubbles to the surface. It arrives at around 40C, which is just the temperature for a hot bath. Convenient. It’s also carbonated.

IMG_6811

It’s definitely warm.

IMG_6807

The baths were ok, but after all… it’s just hot water. We all have a kettle.

I was glad I’d knocked it over on the first night, because that left the day free to explore the rest of the city. Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer plots abound here!!

IMG_6819

I went to the pub across the road from my hotel and planned out my day.

IMG_6820

Apparently a sprig of parsley and a cherry tomato is all you need!

Big day tomorrow. 🙂

This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy... say something!

