Hello!

IMG_7138

Hi everyone! I think the pressure of blogging the Europe trip every day meant that I needed a blog break. I’ve been puddling around here for the last 3 weeks, getting over jet lag, putting (some of) the garden to rights and starting to organise my next project.

The chooks are glad I’m back, because they’ve been enjoying all the weeds that I’ve been throwing to them over the chook run fence. They love their Mum.

IMG_7143

I was amazed to see the asparagus so tall. I chopped it down to the ground a week or so before I left. I wasn’t expecting it to have taken off as it did. Next year I eat!

IMG_7145

The right-hand-side veggie beds were almost completely taken over by weeds from the sheep manure and warrigal greens. Seriously, if you have a patch of warrigal greens in your garden you’ll never want for food.

IMG_7146

Jeffrey enjoys some added greens almost as much as the chooks. His coat was a disgrace when I got back, so I took the dogs up to see my sister and her clippers.

IMG_7159

He looks awful, but at least there are no more knots and he doesn’t look obese. He’s anxiously awaiting warmer weather to arrive, though.

IMG_7141

My freezer worm farm has fallen off its bricks and collapsed onto the ground. It’s incredibly heavy with all of the gravel inside it for drainage, so I’ve organised for my brother-in-law to come and pour a little concrete slab so it’ll have a secure footing to stand on, then to come back with a lifting thing and set it up again. I miss my worm wee…

IMG_7151

The dogs are still shadowing my every move.

IMG_7156

This was a good afternoon’s work. I didn’t have the heart to pull up the brave silver beet who planted itself on the outside of the garden bed in a crack between it and the paving. Might use it for dinner tonight, come to think of it. 🙂

IMG_7144

This is the garlic bed, with weeds choking the pot on the back left with a mandarin tree in it. I love the idea of using natural fertiliser like the sheep manure, but the weeds it contained were crazy.

I don’t think the garlic will be very successful this year. The beds looked dry and I’m not sure they’ll be able to catch up. Still, I wasn’t going to miss out on Europe because a patch of garlic needed watering…

IMG_7148

This is the wicking bed under Evan19’s window. I’m not sure what this thing is that’s gone to seed – probably parsnip. I’ve had parsnip in this bed constantly reseeding itself since foodnstuff visited me about 3 or 4 or 5 years ago and gave me the seeds.

IMG_7137

This photo makes me very happy. This is David22 and his girlfriend R. She organised a surprise birthday party for him and included friends from high school, uni , the band and also family. I love the way they’re looking at each other in this shot. She’s a good organiser as he had absolutely no idea that this was all happening. The look on his face as he looked up and saw us all was priceless.

I caught up with the ex-husband and had a lovely long conversation with him, (long-term blog readers would appreciate the irony in that!), and I got to see the boys engage with their little sister, who’s now 6. Evan19, in particular, was fabulous in the way he mucked around with her and made sure she was having fun. It was beautiful to be able to see that side of the boys.

IMG_7142

I got back too late to spray the nectarine tree with copper. It’s absolutely COVERED with leaf curl. I’m going to pretend that I left the spraying off so that I could see if it affects the amount of fruit that sets. It’ll make the revolting way that it looks from my kitchen window seem as if it’s for Science, instead of just bad luck in the timing.

Only a week to go and then I’m back into the hectic routine again. ARGH! So much to do and so little time…!

🙂

This entry was posted in chickens, gardening, pets, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello!

  1. Snoskred says:

    I feel like I don’t understand asparagus. I must google it, I think. 🙂

    Do the chooks eat Warrigal Greens? If so I might plant some for them. 🙂

  2. foodnstuff says:

    Love Jeff’s fluffy feet!
    No, that’s not parsnip flowering. Parsnip has white flowers. Looks more like a brassica…kale perhaps? Did I miss a house painting…I thought those weatherboards were white?
    Pity about the asparagus, some of those spears could have been eaten this year. Rule of thumb is…if it’s thicker than a pencil…pick it; if not leave it to go to fern.

  3. Urspo says:

    what lovely photos! I always enjoy hearing about the chooks.

Don't be shy... say something!

