Skinflint Sunday: Another project finished.

IMG_7178

On Friday the painter came back and finished the fence. I’m absolutely loving the look.

The next step is to get the front garden landscaped. In December I had Karen from Edible Eden  come and design a suburban food forest for my yard. I didn’t want it to look like a little farm, but I’m suburban enough to want it to look reasonable neat and pretty and not overtly ‘foody’. I’ve been waving the plan in front of everyone’s face for the last 9 months and now… depending on how much the quote is… it’s time to get this thing implemented. The beauty of it is that once I get the infrastructure like paths, garden beds and the watering system put in, the rest can be done by stages as I cash flow it. After having struggled so hard to pay off this Beautiful Blue House, I’m not borrowing money again.

I also need to get plantation shutters for the front windows. THEN the house will look fabulous from the street and I’ll be a very pleased Frogdancer.

IMG_7183

This is what the front garden looks like at present. The cherry and plum trees are bravely blossoming, there’s bulbs and roses trying to fight off the weeds and all in all it has a lovely air of feral desperation. Unfortunately that’s not the look I’m going for, so I’m eager for change.

I just wish that the Euro and the Pound had a better exchange rate when I was over there; then I would have had more money to play with now.

IMG_7163

Remember the rule that the dogs weren’t allowed on the couch? It seems that things were allowed to slide a little while I was gone…

IMG_7171

In the end it was impossible to fight it. (By the way, quilters will understand how glad I am that Evan19 still loves and uses that quilt I made for his birthday all those years ago.)

IMG_7165

Apparently it’s still very snuggly.

IMG_7164

David22 has been working for the last couple of years in a kitchen in a pub in Melbourne. A couple of nights ago he wanted to make us all dinner. Well, R was coming so that may have influenced his decision a bit. He didn’t realise that the thermomix could steam chicken, then take 4 seconds to shred it perfectly. I was rapt that that was the only thing I had to do to contribute to dinner. I like having a night off now and then. 🙂

IMG_7173

Late September is seed planting time! Before I left for Europe… did I mention that I’ve been there?… 😛  I bought a bucketload of different seeds from all of these on-line companies. Now I have to get my proverbial into gear and get them into pots and into the ground.

IMG_7174

Jeffrey.

IMG_7175

I planted a whole heap of tomatoes (hope I’m not too late) and beans, celery, capsicum, mangel wurzels (whatever they are) and some other bits and bobs. I asked Ryan20 what he wanted me to plant and among the selections were popcorn, cucumber, pumpkin and beans. I’ve put these ones all in a bed together. I’ll be trying the Three Sisters thing.

Thermomix Recipe: Skinnymixer’s Nyonya Chicken Curry This is for dinner tonight for two reasons. One is that it has heaps of comments and everyone raves about it. The second is that I’ve discovered that clotted cream is NOT my friend and I want to lose some extra poundage that has crept on my delicate frame while I’ve been away. Clean eating for the Frogdancer household!

This entry was posted in Children., gardening, pets, Quality of life, quilting, Skinflint, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Another project finished.

  1. Snoskred says:

    Evan and the dog. That photo wins the internet for today. 🙂

  2. How great is it now that the weather is warming up and you can get out and about and get some jobs done!

  3. foodnstuff says:

    So I did miss a house painting. It looks very striking! Fence, too.
    I’ll be interested in how those mangel wurzels go. Will have to look them up and see what to do with them.

  4. Tracy says:

    I don’t think I’ve commented here for an age. Your house is looking fabulous and I like the idea of the food forest which is a little tame too.

  5. Urspo says:

    I’m afraid the ‘no dogs on the couch’ rule is no match for puppydog- eyes asking to be up there with you. They are Fido’s more barbarous weapon and it never fails.

  6. Liesel says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for years, and I don’t often comment, but I did want to jump on and say it’s beautiful to see that your boys have turned into such excellent grown ups. I hope my four sons turn out so well 🙂

  7. Pam says:

    I must say that you all looked very wrapped up for people living in a warm country. Isn’t it supposed to be spring with you now? (Want me to come over and do a wee bit of weeding in that front garden for you?)

Don't be shy... say something!

