Now it’s in the lap of the Gods. (In other words, the real estate agents.)

IMG_0473

Well it’s certainly been a hectic couple of weeks.

The house is on the market, with a view to selling it in a couple of weeks if a developer likes the thought of two housing blocks side-by-side in the McKinnon zone. I’m hoping it goes quickly… it was a difficult decision to make as I’ve invested so much emotional energy into buying the place, paying it off and raising my boys here. I always said that I’d be carried  out of here in a pine box when I was 120. But at the same time, I’m a typical example of what happens to a woman’s superannuation when she takes 10 years out of the workforce to raise children. Mine was made worse by the fact that before kids, my then husband and I used what I’d accumulated in super to pay off a building block we’d bought. In other words… stupid. When I began work again once Evan19 was in prep, I was starting from scratch.

Ever since I paid off my house 2 years ago, I’ve been looking towards retirement with grim foreboding. Much as I love teaching, I REALLY don’t want to still be doing it when I’m 70. Or 75. I want to be travelling and reading and playing with the dogs. But the $$$ weren’t stacking up. I’ve been salary sacrificing like a demon, but that doesn’t leave much money left over for living. Thermomix certainly makes it do-able, but I’m working 7 days a week.

Two weeks ago I went to an auction 2 streets away, with a house on the same sized block as mine, with a house that was comparable. It went for over one million dollars. This sounds like a lot for anyone not living in Melbourne’s overheated property market, but the amount didn’t really surprise me. Living in the zone, our property prices are even more inflated.

It was when I came home and stared at the “For Sale’ board in front of my next-door neighbour’s house that I started thinking. I always said that this little house would look after me in my old age. I’d visualised it housing me until I was too old to look after myself, then selling it to pay for the old ladies home with the Happy Hour and the pets. But maybe I was right about it looking after Old Lady Frogdancer; just maybe it wasn’t in the way that I’d envisaged. After all, no one’s looking after me except me.

So after a very stressful weekend weighing up the pros and cons, I decided to let the house go, with the view that I’d move a bit further out and get a cheaper house and put the money left over into my super. Old Lady Frogdancer is a demanding woman and wants her quality of life to increase in her declining years. I figure that the boys and I will be happy anywhere, but I have to allow enough time for the cash to compound in super to make a difference to how I live my life in the next decade.

So that’s the plan. The neighbour’s house sells soon, so the real estate agents have been hitting the phones and the emails, letting developers know that this opportunity is here.

Fingers crossed that it’ll be worth it…

Thermomix Recipe: Banana, Raspberry and Coconut Loaf. The teachers at work loved it.

This entry was posted in balance, books, chickens, Children., cooking, dehydrating food, family., Flowers, friends, Fruit trees, gardening, holidays, Independence Days challenge, Just for fun., knitting, pets, Quality of life, quilting, reading, renovating, soap making, solar cooking, thermomix, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Now it’s in the lap of the Gods. (In other words, the real estate agents.)

  1. Snoskred says:

    I hope you get an offer in the $$ amount you are looking for.. 😉 and I hope you find a new home with plenty of land where you can create an amazing garden and set up a very substantial chook mansion. 🙂 Or even two chook mansions!

  2. libby says:

    my friend just bought a house, then sold her house a few weeks later. she was up and down durning the buying and selling but now very happy with her new house to be. houses sell like hot cakes around my area i hope it goes well for you and you can find a big property for the vegies and chooks

  3. Urspo says:

    fingers and legs crossed.

  4. foodnstuff says:

    Big decision. Don’t expect the future to be better, though. I’ve recommended Nicole Foss before. Google her and have a read.

Don't be shy... say something!

