So instead of gardening, I’ve been knitting.

IMG_7455

So I bought a cat scratching post thing. I’m thinking that I might get a leather couch or two at some stage after I move, because Poppy and Jeff are obviously snoozing on the fabric couches while I’m at work and I’m sick of vacuuming them. (The couches, not the dogs.) But I don’t want the cats to scratch them. Actually, I probably mean both the dogs and the couches here, but I bought the scratching post to save the furniture. So far Maris has adopted it whole-heartedly. Daphne is a bit slower, but she’s slowly coming to like it.

IMG_7457

Look at this magnificent purple beast! I promised Connor19 that when we moved we’d get a sofa bed for the back “man cave” family room so his friends can still pop around and see him. I was going to get a couple of really nice ones, but then I looked at the financials and thought…. ‘yeah…. nah….’

So Gumtree came to the rescue.

IMG_7456

David22’s already slept on it, after he intelligently left his window open at night with the light on and his room filled with mosquitos. I pretty pleased with it. For $170 delivered this will keep the boys happy until we sell the development and I get my money. Then I can upgrade the furniture… unless I become very fond of the purple.

IMG_7429

Ryan21 loves his cowls. I made one like this for Scott as a little thank-you for my trip and it’s beautiful yarn – a mix of wool and silk. I’m currently working on another one for Ryan21, which will make 3 of them that he can choose between. The other boys say they won’t wear them so they miss out. 🙂

IMG_7440

I love this cowl. I bought the cotton yarn at a little place called Much Wenlock in England, so on Ravelry it’s called the “Much Wenlock Cowl.” The real name for the pattern has a particularly unfortunate title, so I think this is much more PC. 🙂

IMG_7439

I have another colourway of this scarf that went all around Europe with me. It’s made from sock yarn and it scrunches up to nothing in a backpack. Love it. I knitted it as a straight scarf and then sewed up the ends.

IMG_7438

This one isn’t really a success. The yarn is too thick for it. It’s like pulling on a cowl made of colourbond steel around your neck. Still, on those extra-frosty mornings when I’m leaving home at the crack of dawn because i’ll have such a long commute, it might come in useful.

IMG_7435

This one I love. I bought this yarn at The Shambles in York… hence the name I gave it. I think I’ll get a lot of use out of this one.

IMG_7432

I also made a shawl, but it’s a bit small. I think I’m going to have to unpick the end and keep on going for another ball of wool or two.

IMG_7430

And dishcloths.

IMG_7458

And home-made pasta. Here’s some lasagne sheets we made a few nights ago. Evan19 gave me a pasta roller for Christmas, so we make the dough in the thermomix and then turn it into delectable delights.

Thermomix Recipe: Vegan Gluten-free Chocolate Chia puddings. Just the thing if you need a chocolate hit first thing in the morning! It’s very good for you too.

This entry was posted in cooking, knitting, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So instead of gardening, I’ve been knitting.

  1. Urspo says:

    Alas, hand-knit scarves are not much in need around these parts, but homemade pasta is always welcome.

  2. Yen says:

    I have leather couches and cats and scratching posts.
    The couches still get scratches – not from deliberate scratching, but just from the cats jumping up or chasing each other around.

Don't be shy... say something!

