My dogs deserve the best.

IMG_7691

There’s no way I could show you this on a Sunday as there’s nothing ‘skinflint’ about it. After Maris died I thought it’d be nice to get Daphne a new bed, seeing as I had to throw the old one out after Maris died in it. While I was on the website my sister recommended, I clicked on ‘dog beds’. It was probably an error…

I ordered a bed so large that I have to take it to a laundrette to be cleaned. I was thinking that soon there’ll be a third puppy, when Audrey the miniature wire-haired dachshund comes to stay, so they’ll need the room to spread out. Poppy and Jeff seem to like it, so that’s all good. Daphne’s bed is far smaller. She’s as snug as a bug in it. 🙂

In other doggy news, Poppy looks as if she may be in whelp. Her breeder sent me this link so on day 19 I checked. Pink gums. The morning of day 20? Pink. The evening of day 20? Her gums were white. I was amazed. Anyway, in the fullness of time we’ll see if she’s pregnant, but this was an interesting thing to see.

IMG_7709

At 7:30 on Saturday morning I took the dogs for a walk. We walked for ages, especially since Mum rang so we were having a chat as the sea did its thing. We were there for about half an hour and it wasn’t until I was putting on their leads that I realised that I’d put my shoes down somewhere and I had no idea where they were.

I was so incensed with myself. They were Moxy shoes, so comfy and not exactly cheap. I decided to retrack my steps and look for them. Murphy the chicken killer was with us and he’s getting along in years. He sighed and kept walking with us, as we walked and walked and walked. Finally – success!

IMG_7711

I must have put them down to answer the phone. I was rapt. (So was Murphy.)

IMG_7699

Earlier in the week I took my year 12 Theatre Studies kids into the city to the MTC’s production of Strindberg’s ‘Miss Julie’. It was a sparkling day. I took the train from salubrious Carrum and met the kids at Bentleigh station, then we took the train straight into the city. It’s changed my life. I’m thinking that once the work finishes on the level crossings, (they’re being put under the road) then I’ll start taking the train to work. Yes! I’ll be rubbing shoulders with the General Public, which is weird to think of, but imagine the extra steps I’ll have on my Fitbit every day. The line is supposed to be finished by August or so, so we’ll see how it goes.

We had our lunches sitting by the Yarra, where the kids passed the time by gossiping and singing songs from ‘Wicked’. They absolutely loved the play.

IMG_7705

I just had to show you this. Saturday night.

IMG_7717

Sunday night brought Tom24 and Evan19 to see me for Mothers’ Day. Yep, I had a feeling I went a bit overboard with the size of the dog bed!

Thermomix Recipe: Anzac Balls.  Made these today and OMG. SO good.

This entry was posted in Children., decorating, pets, School. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My dogs deserve the best.

  1. Snoskred says:

    That last photo! 🙂

    I’ve been doing a lot of beach walking. I have a Fitbit too, and I am loving it, I’ve lost over 12kg since the start of the year. YAY Fitbit! 😉

  2. Lucinda Sans says:

    New bed for a new house. Sounds good to me. Looks very cosy!

  3. nayardt says:

    Awwww they are so cute!

  4. Bek says:

    I love the doggy look of content from the depths of the dog bed. You are a very good mum to them! I hope they know how good they’ve got it 🙂

  5. Urspo says:

    I am curious to hear how the kids thought of “Miss Julie”. I imagine kids these days would not appreciate how scandalous this play was viz. a noble person running off with a servant.

    • Frogdancer says:

      They got that… though it was interesting that one of the girls asked why Jean, once Miss Julie had slept with him, thought that Miss Juiie was now tied to him. It led to a very good discussion about contraception and how the status of women has changed from being viewed as a man’s property.

  6. foodnstuff says:

    Made those Anzac balls. Verrrry good. Thought rum flavour would be good (my Mum used to make rum truffles….similar but not so healthy) and rolling in choc nonpareils.

Don't be shy... say something!

