Skinflint Sunday: Days filled with little achievements.

IMG_7836

It’s been over a month since I last posted and a lot has gone on. I’m about to have lunch and then whip down to the beach with Jeffrey before I insult him with with a bath, but I thought I’d catch you up. It’s a lazy Sunday afternoon and all’s well.

IMG_7838

Jeff has slid into the position of Only Dog pretty well, though David22 tells me that he cries after I leave for work each day. My new house has a hallway that virtually runs from one end of the house to the other, so we now have a routine for when I come home from work that means that we have a rapturous reunion in the middle of the house when I open the hall door, then he runs to the front door while I run to the end of the hall. Then he runs full pelt up the hallway and jumps all over me again. He looks hilarious as he’s running towards me… his ears flap and his shaggy coat galumphs everywhere. I wonder if this will continue when Poppy comes back.

IMG_7817

Here’s a photo of the girl on the way to her breeders, to be dropped off in order to give birth and raise her puppies. You’d swear she knew she was going to be left, judging by that face.

IMG_7818

Here’s Poppy and Jeff’s mother and grandmother, leading an arduous afternoon in Jenny’s lounge room. Sometimes it’s tough being a pet.

Poppy ended up having 3 girls, but one was very prem and died a few days later, despite Jenny giving her feeds every 2 hours around the clock. Sometimes things just aren’t meant to be. But her other daughters are strong and healthy and doing fine. They’re 4 weeks old now and staggering around and discovering the world of their whelping box. Jeff and I drove up there yesterday to see them all. I have photos, but my phone isn’t uploading them to the cloud yet, for some reason. You’ll have to wait to see Dottie and Debbie another time.

Pop was really glad to see us and to show off her babies, but she was less than pleased when Jeff ventured near her food bowl. Jenny says that she’s never seen a bitch with only two puppies to feed to eat so much. Poppy’s always been enthusiastic about her tucker. I sat and talked with Jenny for about half an hour next to the pen. Poppy curled up on my lap, where she could still see her puppies and we had together time. That was, however, until Jeff couldn’t stand it any longer and leaped up on my lap as well.

Poppy still has at least another month there, to raise her babies and teach them how to be dogs. Then she’ll come back home. 🙂

IMG_7872

I’ve been knitting gifts for Scott and Mark and Ryan 21. I’m also knitting cotton dishcloths for my new house, but they’re not as interesting.

IMG_7878

I just put this one in because I liked it. A wintery day.

IMG_7849

I’ve gone mad for making sourdough bread. A couple of months ago Evan19 and I went to a sourdough class run by one of my thermomix customers and I’ve been making our own bread ever since.

IMG_7851

Here’s one of my early ones. I’m now using a proper bread tin and I’m really happy with (most of) the results. I’ve found that it helps to use the timer on your phone once it’s in the oven… cooking a loaf for two hours means that it is so hard and burnt that if you threw it at someone it could kill them. Oops.

IMG_7881

The old house is now at this stage. Evan19 and his friends will soon get their marching orders and then the bulldozers will move in.

IMG_7873

David22 bought a new (to him) car. We’re calling it The Banana. It’s a huge step up from the 1994 Ford stationwagon he was driving and he’s loving it. Gotta love Gumtree!

IMG_7879

Speaking of Gumtree, I’ve been buying and selling furniture on here and I’m loving it. My house is slowly looking more and more elegant and I’ve made the decision that I want to only furnish this place with second-hand pieces that I love. I’m selling off the things i don’t want anymore and keeping an eye out for bits and bobs that I like the look of. I’m in no hurry, but it’s amazing how things just seem to pop up out of nowhere. This is a set of chairs I brought back in the Golf, while the GORGEOUS table they come with was being delivered a few days later.

IMG_7848

There’s so many pretty little things around, like this chair, for example. $100 on Gumtree. I drove into Fitzroy to get it and although it fits with the decor now, when I have a bit more cash I’ll get it reupholstered in a more eye-catching colour. But for now, it’s all good.

IMG_7840

It’s been a year since I was in Europe. I’m loving the Facebook ‘memories’ feature – apparently a year ago I was in Wales. That was where I first saw a miniature wire-haired dachshund and fell in love. (I’m next in line for a puppy from a breeder on Queensland!! Audrey may soon be here!)

This was one of the luckiest things… I bought this chain-mail necklace at the Richard III exhibit in Leicester with Scott. The clasp was loose and I lost it. I was so upset, but I was going here, there and everywhere that day and there was no way of telling where it could be. Three days later I found it – in the front yard.  Fortunate Frogdancer strikes again!

IMG_7853

Here’s another Gumtree find. The old wardrobe was only $30. This is my front verandah – you can rest your coffee cups on top of the cupboard, while inside are old towels to dry your feet after being at the beach, gum boots and watering cans and old shoes for beach walking. PLUS it hides the bins behind it. Love it.

IMG_7835

Thermomix Recipe: 9 Thermomix Recipes that make it worth the cost. (Contact me if it sways you… this is still my business.) 🙂

Finance article: The Ginger Principle: When Buying in Bulk is a Mistake.

 

This entry was posted in balance, Children., knitting, memories, pets, Quality of life, Skinflint. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Days filled with little achievements.

  1. Jennifer Bastian says:

    Glad to hear from you again- I’ve missed you!

  2. Urspo says:

    I was glad to see you posting and bringing us up to date.

  3. Tammy Vineyard says:

    How about painting the cupboard and chairs on your veranda a bright beach color!! That would brighten up the veranda.

Don't be shy... say something!

