Setting a (slightly) new course.

IMG_7976I know I haven’t been posting here a lot, but there’s been a fair bit going on behind the scenes. I’ve come to a few decisions, re-set some major goals and now I’m heading forth to conquer them.

The biggest decision I’ve made is to leave my position as a Group Leader for Thermomix. Basically, I was a consultant for almost a year and then for the last 4 years I’ve been running 2 full-time jobs; as a teacher and as a thermomix Group Leader. For 3 years it was financially rewarding, but for this year it hasn’t. So , much as I enjoy working with the team, I’m not a charity so I’ve left the job and dropped back to being ‘just’ a consultant again. In other words, I’m still selling them, so feel free to put up your hand! 🙂  I’m looking forward to getting my evenings and weekends back, as well as rediscovering that thing called a social life…

IMG_7977

In other news, I’ve become a Public Transport User. This is unprecedented in my life. I’ve spent my time actively avoiding travelling with the General Public… you know…. those people. But with a train station literally 2 minutes walk away and a station 10 minutes walk from school, the time management part of me couldn’t resist. You mean in the same time it takes me to drive to work while listening to a podcast I can podcast, knit or read AND get 3,000 steps for my FitBit???? OMG!!! Cost-wise it’s pretty much a wash, so the added extras have tipped the scales.

This morning I got a bit more exercise than I bargained on. There’s a member of staff who also takes the train, who’s about a foot taller than me with incredibly long legs. He walked with me from the station to school. I was exhausted by the time we made it there. Not to be unsocial, but I hope this doesn’t turn into a daily occurrence. I’ll never survive it.

Scary Legs

I’ve set a goal for myself that I won’t buy any new items of furniture for the house. It all has to be second-hand, both from financial and environmental factors. Plus I like the challenge of sourcing things that I need. I picked up this cabinet a few weeks ago from Gumtree but it was only put in place on Saturday. The legs were wobbly, so my brother-in-law Francis who’s doing work around the place for me took them off and then glued and screwed them back in position. I love this cabinet because I know without a doubt if I lived in a horror movie, those legs would chase me around the room. Nearly every item of furniture I now own has these curvy legs.

As regards my new major goal, read the finance link below. It’ll give you a hint. I’ve been doing a lot of reading in the last few months and I love this article because it explains the concept so clearly.

Thermomix Recipe: How to make your own Halloumi Because, why wouldn’t you?

Finance Article: What is your retirement number? The 4% rule.

This entry was posted in balance, Quality of life, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy... say something!

