Skinflint Sunday: Long-term goals keep you going.

IMG_7988

Look at Jeffrey in the corner. He’s airborne!

IMG_7989

He loves his David22.

We’re now in our fifth month at the new place and I’m loving it. I used to say nothing short of dynamite would get me from my old place, but as it turns out I haven’t missed it a bit. I was thinking a bit about it yesterday and I think (I hope) that I’ve reached a new stage in my life… the stage where it’s all about ME.

Well, not totally, but you know what I mean. The kids are pretty much off my hands, I’ve stepped back from running a team for thermomix so my time is much freer, and all of this means that I can take a few deep breaths, look around and ask myself, “What do I want to do?”

I’m looking forward to it. To be honest, I’m a bit sick of having other people’s agenda and timetables dictate how my life is run. I’m looking forward to being a bit more self-indulgent with my time. So what if I choose to loll around and waste a weekend? Or what if I decide to not set foot outside my gate and spend the weekend reading and gardening? Should it matter to anyone but myself? NO!

To this end, I’ve started looking further ahead, realising that if I don’t want anyone telling me what to do, I have to have the finances in place to enable me to live exactly how I please. My next goal? To retire early(er) than the age when the government decides that people should get the pension.

I want to travel while I’m still young enough not to worry about falling and breaking a hip, or dither about how to get my zimmer frame on and off the bus. I want to wake up and have every day free for me to decide how and where I want to spend it.

Thankfully, I still love teaching, so it’s not as if I spend my days in seething rage at having to earn a living. However, there’s nothing wrong with setting a stretch target of when I’ll be able to choose to pull the pin, if I so desire.

Starting next year… 7 years. Game on!

More on this later. 🙂

Thermomix recipe: I can’t believe it’s not chocolate I’ve posted this recipe before I think, but I made it last week for my year 12 Theatre Studies class to eat while they were doing a SAC and it was a big hit. There are a couple of vegans in the class, so it ticked all the boxes for everyone.

Finance Post: 10 Core principles of ‘The Simple Dollar’

This entry was posted in pets, Quality of life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skinflint Sunday: Long-term goals keep you going.

  1. I’ve been away from reading blogs for quite a while…have just come back to it…wow I have some reading to do to catch up on everything…sounds like you’re in a great spot and a good eye on your future…im glad to be back here

Don't be shy... say something!

