Skinflint Sunday: The bachelor pad.

img_8127

I thought I’d start off with this shot today. Seems appropriate. Deana gave me this wall hanging (for want of a better word) when I stayed at her place last year when I was in England. I went to visit Evan20 at the old house a couple of days ago and I picked it up. Even though I work so close to the house, I haven’t been there for weeks because I’m now taking the train to work and the station is in the other direction. But on Friday I had a meeting with my accountant about the build so I took the car in. Once that was finished, I still had a couple of hours to kill before I had to be back at work, so I went over and inspected the old house and took some more things away with me from the garage.

img_8132

It’s full of whimsical touches. This is one of Evan20’s friends. When he moved in, I said that the plaster could be drawn on, but nothing else.

img_8129

He and his friends have taken me up on that. At first it was confined to the back of the house, but there’s been a fair few parties here and now I think every wall is pretty well covered.

img_8139

The one with the googly eyes is my baby.

img_8131

Unfortunately a few extra things have also been drawn on, which didn’t gladden my heart as much. Still, it’s still whimsical. And there’s no point weeping and wailing about what’s already been done. I just made it very clear that more artwork was NOT in his future.

img_8133

Here’s the rampant growth that wicking boxes can sustain. I haven’t touched these in 6 months. Incidentally, see how the suburb is changing? The new townhouses next door have really changed the skyline. Of course, so will the ones we’re building.

img_8134

This is the orchard. I spent a whole weekend a couple of years ago building up the soil, sheet mulching and then happily planting about 10 trees in here, visualising feeding the family from the trees for decades to come. A month ago I came around with a friend and her husband and they dug up about 15 trees from the property and took them off to their place in Ashwood. I was really happy that my babies would live to feed another family. But look at the nasturtiums! Anyone with nasturtiums in their garden, take note. They’ll swamp just about anything.

img_8138

The wicking beds in the sideway are also going strong; so is the clover that grows in the cracks of the concrete. Gardening clearly isn’t Evan20’s first love.

img_8136

The huge calendula made me happy. When I was doing the gardening club in Bentleigh, before I started doing thermomix, Shane from Ground to Ground Gave me calendula seeds from his garden. When I planted them they struggled a bit, but look at them now! I’m hoping they’ll go to seed before the bulldozers move in so I can start them again in the new house.

img_8137

And the fire pit, scene of many a convivial gathering, I’m sure.

Up until now I haven’t missed having a garden. I’ve popped around the corner and bought salad greens from Aldi without a qualm. But after 6 months… I’m starting to miss it. I planted some seeds in some wicking boxes yesterday…

Finance post: The 10 smartest things ever said about debt. I lOVE number 3! I think about Future Frogdancer a lot – she’s a great old bird. However, in Australia’s property market, number 8 isn’t possible. Melbourne’s median house price is over $700,000 now…

Thermomix Recipe: Golden Syrup I saw this on a FB page. Apparently a slice of lemon = a 5mm slice across the whole lemon, skin and all.

This entry was posted in Children., Flowers, Fruit trees, gardening, Skinflint, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: The bachelor pad.

  1. Lucinda Sans says:

    Our skyline is changing too. All the people coming into Sydney and Melbourne need to live somewhere.

    Love the nasturtiums.

  2. Pam says:

    You are so sensible. I couldn’t cope with seeing my house like that… even if it were about to be demolished. But your attitude is quite right.

  3. Ellen says:

    Those kids will remember the amazing creative time they spent in your old home always and such creative grafitti is a joy to see but a nightmare to clean up. Luckily, that’s not going to be a problem.

Don't be shy... say something!

