So this happened…

img_8216

Read this post to see where it all started. Milly has a lot to answer for, though anyone who ever thinks I won’t attain a goal once I set it… is an idiot.

Once I met Milly I asked her owners about her breeding. For those readers new to the blog, before I had kids I used to breed and show Cavalier King Charles Spaniels. In other words, I know how the game works. Milly’s owners said “Drakesleat… they’re the best in the UK.”

I emailed Jenny… Poppy and Jeff’s breeder… to ask her who she’d recommend. As a serious breeder, she knows lots of people in the dog world. She said a woman who was friends with Bertie’s breeder (pictured below) was the person to go through.

Turns out… it was the same person. Lucky Lisa strikes again!

img_0023

Dear old Bertie with short ears.

I contacted the breeder in the UK and asked if she’d exported any stock to Australia. I didn’t want to import a bitch from the UK because they have to be at least 6 months old and I wanted a puppy. Fortunately, she put me onto a breeder in Brisbane who has based his kennels on her Drakesleat lines. So before I even got back to Australia I had a pup on order.

Only took a year.

img_8188

So meet Scout. She’s 12 weeks old and has been with us for 3 days. She flew down from Brisbane on Saturday, met all of the boys on Sunday and now as I’m typing this she’s asleep under my desk at work on Monday. I have permission to bring her in when David23 is working and won’t be there to give her lunch. The tennis ball is there for scale.

img_8193

Poppy and Jeff are still at the stage of loftily ignoring her, hoping that she’ll go back to wherever she came from. The cat is a different matter.

img_8215Daphne has seen many a puppy arrive, so she knows exactly how to get the upper hand and keep it.

img_8213She’s double Scout’s size. So far, she’s the only animal that will speak to her, so Scout is falling in love with Daphne.

I’ll leave you with some photos that seem to capture Poppy and Jeff’s feelings at this unexpected turn of events in their lives. Feel free to comment with what you think they may be thinking…

img_8211

Jeffrey.

img_8226Poppy.

img_8210

Poppy and Jeff.

🙂

This entry was posted in pets, Quality of life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So this happened…

  1. foodnstuff says:

    Aaaw! She’s cute. Doesn’t look anything like a King Charles. Will that kick in as she gets older?

  2. Squidgypigs says:

    Congratulations what an adorable pair!

  3. foodnstuff says:

    Ooops! beg her pardon. I thought she was a KC. Thought the muzzle was a bit longish.

Don't be shy... say something!

