And now, an old Youtube clip.

 

Financial post: Well worth watching. Grab a coffee and settle in!

I started the morning in such a productive way, getting so many things done before work, so I thought I’d keep the ball rolling and actually write a blog post on the blog, instead of just in my head.

So much, yet so little, has been happening. Though I had a win today: A year 7 boy came up to me at the end of the class this morning and said, “I never thought I’d say this, but English is the BEST class!”

Readers who’ve been with me for a while may recall that I bought a house for myself for Christmas in 2015 and moved to a beachside suburb further out along the train line, in preparation for my house to be torn down. Well, the house is still standing and my youngest son, Evan20, has been living there all this time. However, the power and gas are getting turned off tomorrow and Evan20 will be moving back with David23 and my good self. Personally, I think he’ll be thrilled to be moving back home. I’m positively delightful to live with. (Plus, he has Poppy, Jeff, Scout and Daphne to cuddle.) Imagine, having had almost a year’s worth of independence when you’re 20, then moving back in with the Parental Unit. He’ll be so happy…

I’ve gone back to teaching full-time and I like all of my classes, thankfully. I have 2 year 7 English classes who are bright and bubbly, a year 8 English class who are almost robotically well-behaved, a year 12 Theatre Studies class and a year 9 English Skills class. This last group are the kids who need more help in English. For some unknown reason, I have them on the last 2 periods of the week – the two periods where no-one wants to work, particularly on the bits and bobs like grammar, punctuation and spelling. It’s been 3 weeks now and so far no-one’s killed anyone. I’m keeping the lessons fast and entertaining and they’re a nice group of kids, though you have to watch ’em like a hawk.

My year 12 class is working on the play ‘Twelve Angry Men’, which I’m so excited about. I’ve wanted to do this play for 3 years and up till now the kids haven’t chosen it. They’ve changed the name to ‘Twelve Angry Jurors’ because more than half of them are female. It’s coming along really well and I think they’ll do a good job. 🙂

I thnk that’s enough for today. Cheers! 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Quality of life, School. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And now, an old Youtube clip.

  1. Pam says:

    A tiny bit of me is envious of you with those classes. Most of me, however, is quite pleased with the retired life.

  2. Urspo says:

    Indeed enough for the day. Tomorrow holds a lot of time.

  3. Great video. It pays to get the right advice.
    Thankfully Best Interest Advice (fiduciary) is now law here in Australia.

Don't be shy... say something!

