Skinflint Sunday: The plan comes to fruition.

IMG_8933

So what does one do when everything finally comes together and a plan is executed?

IMG_8926

One celebrates! My boss was singularly unimpressed, but everyone else loves it.

IMG_7881.jpg

Yes, the house sale limped its way over the line and the money was deposited into my account a couple of weeks ago. The little weatherboard house has already been torn down and the 2 townhouses we planned will go up in its place. I drive right past the house most mornings so I could see the gradual tearing down. It was a bit sad, but thankfully I love my new place so much that I can’t help but feel it was the right thing to do.

IMG_7383.jpg

I just used an old photo. It’s horrible weather outside at the moment so I decided that I’ll stay on the couch instead of dashing outside to wave a camera around.  I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to finally be able to look at my beautiful house and know that I own it lock, stock and barrel. I’ve hated the last 18 months of being horrendously in debt with a passion, and the thought of being free of the 3 grand a month bridging finance is so, so sweet.

As John Collins says, I now have my ‘FU money‘. Not enough to retire on with the level of income that I want, but there’s enough that I have options should I need them. (Click on the second link to watch the clip… I tried to embed it but WordPress has changed how things are done and I’m a bit lost. )

I’ve shovelled as much as I can into super, so Old Lady Frogdancer will be able to go travelling whenever she wants, and I’m looking at various index funds with Vanguard to park the rest. My FIRE date (Financial Independence/Retire Early date) is around 5 or 6 years away, I think. I want to retire early enough so I can gallop around the world and not slow anyone down with elderly aches and pains. Besides, I still like teaching. I suppose that when the kids stop making me laugh every day it might be time to put down the whiteboard markers, but that day hasn’t happened yet.

I’ve taken up Tai Chi on Wednesday nights, which I’m enjoying, though it’s hard to keep up with the rest of the class. I should’ve waited to join at the start of the year, I guess. I also did something I’ve been wanting to do for years… I bought not one but two MTC subscriptions. My plan is to take a different person with me to see each play. We’ll have dinner in the city, then go to the theatre. This way I can catch up with various people and give people a treat at the same time. How excellent is that? The first play is ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime’ from the National Theatre in England. I remember walking past the theatre when I was with Scott in London and wishing I was going to see it. Well, now I am! (And so’s David24… he loved the novel when he studied it in year 9.)

Well, speaking about school and studying, those year 12 essays aren’t going to mark themselves. I’d better go and get some work done before Ryan22 gets up. He’s doing a remedial massage course and I’m getting a massage later this morning. It’s a sacrifice, but I’ll steel myself to do it for the sake of his education…. 🙂

Financial post: A Story of a Fuck Off fund.

This entry was posted in Children., Quality of life, Skinflint, Uncategorized, work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: The plan comes to fruition.

  1. Urspo says:

    I love the hair.

  2. Snoskred says:

    The hair is amazing! Those are my colours. I could put together multiple outfits to go with that hair. 😉

    Happy moments re the house. I hope the townhouses are of an awesome design for their future owners and residents. I was lucky enough to live in two during my lifetime. I have visited many more, and I always like to look at them on realestate sites. I have seen some brilliant ones, and I have seen some Not Great ones.

    I love a townhouse and were I building a house of my own, it would be quite townhouse like. I went to see a friend once who lived in a very early built townhouse – from the early 1900s – in Adelaide. It had high ceilings and every great thing. 🙂

  3. Lucinda Sans says:

    Great colours! Very celebratory.

    Buying two subscriptions is a good idea. To be able to share the joy! I subscribe to STC with a friend. She also subscribes to the opera. But that’s not in my budget.

  4. Pam says:

    That all sounds VERY GOOD!

Don't be shy... say something!

