Skinflint Sunday: The Scout edition.

We’ve been seeing lots of this over the weekend. Scout was allowed to come home on Friday afternoon.

I couldn’t believe it. I rang the vet on Friday morning and said, “Hi, this is Frogdancer Jones, Scout’s Mum. Is she still alive??”

“Oh yes!” the receptionist said. “She’s wagging her tail, we’ve taken the drip off her and we’re going to be test-feeding her later today.”

She turned the corner overnight, sometime after the vet visited her at 10PM. I was so happy when I went to pick her up and the vet nurse carried out a sleepy, very ‘flat’ looking baby girl.

Here’s the cause – a seedpod from a tree that is just around the corner from us. This thing is as hard as a rock; she may just as well have swallowed a pebble. There’s no way any amount of stomach acid would have broken it down.

It’s an expensive seedpod – the bill ended up being over $3,200.

But she’s still breathing. I prefer it when my pets do that.

It’s a large incision for such a tiny dog. She’s going to take quite a while to recover – it’s not like when a pup comes home from being spayed and they’re bouncing around the next day. She came very close to death and so she’s spending a lot of time sleeping and wanting to be cuddled.

While I was fiddling around taking photos, I accidentally swiped something and the colours went all screwy. I had no idea how to fix it so I took these shots of the others.

This is Jeff, a bit annoyed because Scout gets to eat shredded chicken and rice, while he and Poppy get to eat the low-fat tinned food the vet said I should buy for Scout, but she utterly refused to eat. (I don’t blame her. It looks disgusting. I’m glad I only bought one tin.)

Poppy doesn’t care. She’d eat anything, even her own left leg if it wasn’t securely fastened on.

I owe the local vets a debt of gratitude. When they saw how sick she was, the hired a courier to get her bloodwork to the lab, so they’d get the test results back asap. They had 2 surgeons working on her and the vet visited her at 10PM and again at 5AM. She couldn’t have had better care.

She’s the luckiest girl in Melbourne – and so am I.

 

11 thoughts on “Skinflint Sunday: The Scout edition.

  1. Am glad she is recovering. We had a similar episode at the same time with Abyssinian cat here. We knew something was wrong but vet could not pinpoint it at the time. Then he suddenly became much worse. He managed to actually pass a huge amount by himself just before surgery and he is obviously recovering. Touch and go however. New to the family and just getting used to life here.

  2. So glad she is on the mend. We have a King Charles Cavalier so I’ve had a bit of a chuckle at Poppy eating her left leg LOL, ours eats anything not nailed down. Give Scout a big cuddle from me, but give Poppy and Jeff a cuddle also so they don’t feel left out.

  3. Pingback: The FIRE Quilt. - Burning Desire For FIRE

Don't be shy... say something!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.