Skinflint Sunday: Getting Things Done.

It’s dawned on my mighty intellect that I only have 2 weeks to go before I’m on the plane with Megan and we’re off to Canada and Alaska. The travel agent sent over some docs to fill in for the cruise company and after looking through them, I’m finally starting to get excited.

Tom32’s girlfriend Sophie has lived in Canada, so she looked at the itinerary and said that it’s ticking all the main points of Vancouver, so that’s good. We’re meeting a blog reader called Martha on our free day in Vancouver, so I’m really looking forward to that. Megan wants to see ‘the REAL Vancouver”, (whatever that is), so I guess we’ll be wandering around looking at Martha’s favourite spots, which is perfectly fine by me. 🙂

I’ve decided that the grey merino dress will be coming out of hibernation for the Canada leg of the trip. The weather is supposed to be around 17C – 20C at this time of year, so that’s perfect for a dress and tights. I’m hoping the tights will keep away the mozzies. Once we’re on the cruise, where I assume we’ll be hopping in and out of zodiacs, I’ll start wearing trousers.

Much to my chagrin, I’ll be taking a suitcase along on this trip, instead of just carry-on. I loved the freedom of carry-on, but the cold-weather clothes won’t fit in. Or maybe they will. I bought a vacuum pump system that compresses clothes to use on my Ghan trip, so maybe I should give it a whirl and see what I can actually fit into my dear little carry-on case.

Seeing as I have only two weeks to go, I’ve suddenly;y swung into gear. I have about 4 weeks’ worth of work to do in the veggie garden to get it all tucked away for winter, so I have my work cut out for me. Yesterday I harvested all of these beans (Lazy Housewife), just at a time of year when I should be pulling up the vines. There’s more there, still growing, so I’m leaving them be for a bit, along with a few capsicums and (finally!) zucchinis.

The plan for the garden is to drastically cut down on what I plant this year.

I’ll be in Vietnam, Japan and Africa when I’m normally processing all of the produce from the yard. I can’t in all fairness expect Georgia to do it, so my main crop will be GARLIC. You plant it now, then pull it up in December. Too easy. I’ve bought a few different types of garlic to plant, along with the elephant garlic that one of Georgia’s friends gave her a couple of years ago.

I like the idea of keeping our house, as well as the kids’ houses, supplied with all the garlic we’ll need.

Megan and I fly out early in the morning on Mother’s Day, so I’m hoping to get the kids around for a dinner or lunch before we go. It frees up the coupled ones to spend time with their other Mother on the actual day, so I’m hoping we’ll be able to get together beforehand. It makes me very happy on the days that I have all the people I made in the same room with me. It’s almost as good when I have a day when I speak to the whole set on the phone. I like these people.

The little woofs are all good. I snapped this shot of Scout going into the water with the ball, even when it was freezing cold. She loves it.

Dad joke of the day:

3 thoughts on “Skinflint Sunday: Getting Things Done.

Don't be shy... say something!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.